- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Battle Brewing in Manchester

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 11, 2008 @ 4:57 pm In General | No Comments

Paul Pierce [1] asked for the match up and he got it.

With just under 7:30 to go in the first quarter, Pierce drove the lane against Ron Artest [2]. Artest welcomed him at the basket with a blow to the shoulder. No foul was called and the Rockets scored on the fastbreak. Artest pumped his chest as Eddie House [3] and Kendrick Perkins [4] rose to their feet on the Celtics [5] bench to vocalize their disagreement with the no-call.

Moments later, Garnett blocked a Rockets shot that sent the crowd into a frenzy. The noise escalated when Artest dealt a hard foul to Ray Allen [6] that sent the Celtics guard sliding into the front row.

Pierce has left the game with a bruised right shoulder but is expected to return.

All this tension and there is still five minutes to go in the first quarter.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/11/battle-brewing-in-manchester/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[3] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] > Battle Brewing in Manchester" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/11/battle-brewing-in-manchester/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.