- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Miles Settling Into Boston

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 12, 2008 @ 10:19 pm In General | No Comments

Darius Miles was anxious when he moved to Boston last month. He had played here before on opposing teams [1] but it’s a different story when you are representing Beantown. The city’s winning tradition was intimidating at first.

‘€œThe last time I played there it wasn’t really a big deal because the team was losing games,’€ Miles said. ‘€œLike now just walking into the practice facility, it’s like it’s scary to a point because of the history that goes back on this team. Seeing all these pictures of Bill Russell [2] and all these great players that used to play here and seeing those big banners, it’s different now.’€

Through his six-year stint in the NBA, Miles already knew many of the veteran Celtics [3] including Kevin Garnett [4], Ray Allen [5], Paul Pierce [6], and Sam Cassell. Knowing these players also meant knowing the high expectations of winning another championship this season.

‘€œI’m a basketball fan so I kind of knew a lot about [the Celtics tradition],’€ Miles said. ‘€œThen once they brought a championship back, that kind of brought it all back to the world and everybody else and it kind of brought it back to my memory too. Like I said it got scary where I just don’t want to mess up, don’t want to miss a pass, drop the ball, miss a shot.’€

After six weeks Miles has become more comfortable in his new digs. Doc Rivers [7] has praised his hustle and he seems at ease in the Celtics locker room. Off the court, he has already staked claim of his new favorite restaurant, Biagio in Waltham [8].

‘€œI like the family restaurants,’€ he said. ‘€œThey don’t have too many name brand restaurants. There are a lot of family-owned restaurants around here, so the food tastes better and the people know how to cook.’€

What else does Miles like about Boston?

‘€œMy favorite part is I like everybody’s accent,’€ he said, adding, ‘€œMy mom came down here when I was sick (tonsillitis) and she was telling me she liked everybody’s accents too.’€

So will this Belleville, Illinois [9] native be pahkin the cah any time soon?

‘€œNo, I don’t think I’ll pick one up,’€ Miles said with a laugh. ‘€œI’m too country for that.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/12/miles-settling-into-boston/

URLs in this post:

[1] opposing teams: http://www.nba.com/playerfile/darius_miles/career_stats.html

[2] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] Biagio in Waltham: http://www.biagiowaltham.com/

[9] Belleville, Illinois: http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=belleville,+illinois&ie=UTF8&ct=clnk&cd=1

[10] > Miles Settling Into Boston" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/12/miles-settling-into-boston/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.