- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics Beat Nets 83-66

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 19, 2008 @ 2:56 pm In General | No Comments

The Boston Celtics [1] defeated the New Jersey Nets [2] 83-66 behind 44 solid minutes from Gabe Pruitt [3]. Kendrick Perkins [4] led the Celtics with 18 point and 9 rebounds. Ryan Anderson [5] scored 20 for the Nets. A few postgame notes:

  • Pruitt was the talk of evening as Kevin Garnett [6] and Paul Pierce [7] sang his praises. KG pointed out that Pruitt goes up against Pierce, Ray Allen [8], and Rajon Rondo [9] every day in practice, naturally improving any player. “Playing against the Truth, giving him a good taste of what the Truth is all about will make you better,” he said.
  • Nets head coach Lawrence Frank [10] gave kudos to Perkins and called him “dominant presence in the game.” He also noted that his team got caught up in rotations, weren’t hitting their shots (31.9% FG), and failed at keeping the Celtics off the glass.
  • On that note, the Celtics outrebounded the Nets 56-29. Pruitt (12 rebounds) grabbed more boards than Nets starting big men Bobby Simmons, Yi Jianlian, and Brook Lopez [11] combined.

The Celtics will take on the New York Knicks [12] on Tuesday night in NYC.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/19/celtics-beat-nets-83-66/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[3] Gabe Pruitt: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gabe-pruitt.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Ryan Anderson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ryan-anderson.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] Lawrence Frank: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lawrence-frank.htm

[11] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[12] New York Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[13] > Celtics Beat Nets 83-66" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/19/celtics-beat-nets-83-66/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.