- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics Exercise Option on Rondo

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 31, 2008 @ 9:22 am In General | No Comments

In a move that has been expected all month, today the Boston Celtics [1] exercised the fourth year option on point guard Rajon Rondo [2]. Per team policy terms were not disclosed.

In three years Rondo has become one of the many “told you so’s” of Danny Ainge’s career. Ainge had been heavily scouting Rondo for years before landing him in a 2006 Draft Night deal [3] with the Phoenix Suns [4].

20 players were selected before the Kentucky native [5]:

1. Andrea Bargnani
2. LaMarcus Aldrige
3. Adam Morrison
4. Tyrus Thomas [6]
5. Shelden Williams [7]
6. Brandon Roy [8]
7. Randy Foye
8. Rudy Gay [9]
9. Patrick O’Bryant [10]
10. Saer Sene
11. J.J. Redick
12. Hilton Armstrong
13. Thabo Sefalosha
14. Ronnie Brewer
15. Cedric Simmons
16. Rodney Carney
17. Shawne Williams [11]
18. Oleksiy Pecherov
19. Quincy Douby
20. Renaldo Balkman [12]
21. Rajon Rondo

Looks like the Celtics hit blackjack with stealing Rondo at 21.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/31/celtics-exercise-option-on-rondo/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] 2006 Draft Night deal: http://www.nba.com/celtics/news/draft-central/press062806-draft-rondo.html

[4] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[5] 20 players were selected before the Kentucky native: http://www.basketball-reference.com/draft/NBA_2006.html

[6] Tyrus Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyrus-thomas.htm

[7] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[8] Brandon Roy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-roy.htm

[9] Rudy Gay: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rudy-gay.htm

[10] Patrick O’Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/patrick-obryant.htm

[11] Shawne Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shawne-williams.htm

[12] Renaldo Balkman: http://media.weei.com/basketball/renaldo-balkman.htm

[13] > Celtics Exercise Option on Rondo" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/31/celtics-exercise-option-on-rondo/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.