- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Del Negro Taking On Old Friends

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 31, 2008 @ 5:48 pm In General | 1 Comment

Vinny Del Negro’s return to Boston is more than just a homecoming for the Springfield, Massachusetts native. Tonight the newly appointed head coach of the Chicago Bulls [1] is going up against his former teammates in all levels of the Celtics [2] organization.

“I played with Doc, I played with Danny, I played with Ray Allen [3],” Del Negro said before the game.  “So to come back and see those guys is great. I’m just happy with their success last year and for all those guys.”

Here’s how it breaks down:

1988-90: Teammates with Danny Ainge on the Sacramento Kings [4]

1994-96: Teammates with Doc Rivers [5] on the San Antonio Spurs [6]

1998-2000: Teammates with Ray Allen on the Milwaukee Bucks [7]


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/31/del-negro-taking-on-old-friends/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] San Antonio Spurs: http://media.weei.com/basketball/san-antonio-spurs.htm

[7] Milwaukee Bucks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/milwaukee-bucks.htm

[8] > Del Negro Taking On Old Friends" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/10/31/del-negro-taking-on-old-friends/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.