- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Nuggets Game Blog: Fourth Quarter

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 14, 2008 @ 7:57 pm In General | 2 Comments

Final Score … Nuggets 94 , Celtics85

The Boston Celtics [1] could not overcome an early deficit and lost 94-85 to the Denver Nuggets [2]. This is the Celtics first home loss of the season and they fall to 8-2. Ray Allen [3] led all scorers with 26 points while Chauncey Billups [4] and Carmelo Anthony scored 18 apiece for the Nuggets. The Celtics end this homestand 2-1.

- Could this be the end of late game heroics? The Celtics have found themselves in a double-digit deficit with just over a minute to go. Pierce is scoreless in the fourth quarter, for the record.

- Heart. Toughness. Intensity. Focus. Home Court. The words flashed on the Jumbotron during a highlight video set to KG’s favorite, “In the Air Tonight.” Then Nuggets came out of the timeout with a Billups three-point play. Talk about a mood kill.

- Pierce is back and and KG welcomed him to the court with a huge dunk. Scal got so excited he nearly ran from the bench to the player’s tunnel. With the Big Three on the court and 2:30 to go, we’ve got ourselves a ball game. Timeout Denver, Nuggets 86 – Celtics 84

- The Celtics are staying in this game with their long-range shooting. They have hit 9 of 21 from three-point land. The Nuggets on the other hand are just 4 for 12. Ray Allen and House are a combined 7-for-15.

- A Nuggets fan just got doused in Silly String. She jumped around basking in her glory of the crowd’s disapproval and now she’s posing for pictures.

- Pierce, who is scoreless in the first five minutes of the quarter, has just come out of the game. Interesting since he has single-handedly taken over the previous two games in the final 12. Doc’s got KG back out there now with Ray Allen, House, Powe, and Tony Allen [5].  KG quickly got to work, getting tied up with Anthony Carter [6] for a jump ball. I think Garnett’s got this one in the bag.

- Tony Allen and Melo are on the sidelines waiting to come in. The Cs are going with defense, the Nuggets with offense with the score Nuggets 74 – Celtics 70 at the eight minute mark.

- Let’s take a look at who’s on the court:

Celtics: House, Ray Allen, Pierce, Davis, Powe
Nuggets: Carter, Kleiza, Smith, Balkman, Martin

At the start of the fourth quarter … Celtics 65, Nuggets 64

The Celtics have followed suit and got hot in the third quarter after a slow start. Pierce is entering the final stretch after scoring 12 minutes in the last 12 minutes. Let’s see if they can continue this trend of comeback wins …


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/14/celtics-nuggets-game-blog-fourth-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Denver Nuggets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/denver-nuggets.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[5] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[6] Anthony Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/anthony-carter.htm

[7] > Celtics-Nuggets Game Blog: Fourth Quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/14/celtics-nuggets-game-blog-fourth-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.