- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Nuggets Game Blog: Halftime Adjustments

Posted By Paul Flannery On November 14, 2008 @ 7:08 pm In General | 1 Comment

As faithful readers know, I am not of the mind that the loss of James Posey [1] is the huge deal that some make it out to be. However, credit George Karl [2] with an interesting lineup that specifically exploited the lack of a legit backup small forward–like James Posey.

In the second quarter, Karl used PG Anthony Carter [3] and C Nene and surrounded those two with three listed small forwards: Carmelo Anthony, Renaldo Balkman [4] and Linas Kleiza, all of whom are 6-foot-8. The Celtics [5] had their usual second unit on the floor with Paul Pierce [6] which led to two specific matchup issues: Tony Allen [7] on Carmelo (length problems) and Big Baby on Balkman (quickness problems).

The unusual lineup really messed with the Celtics on the offensive end as they only managed to score five points in the first six minutes of the second quarter and their six-point lead went poof. Karl hinted at this in his pregame chat, by the way. We’ll be back for the second half in a bit.

Quick addendum: Just got the halftime stats and Carmelo, Kleiza and Balkman went 7-for-11 for 15 points and 12 rebounds in the second quarter.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/14/celtics-nuggets-game-blog-halftime-adjustments/

URLs in this post:

[1] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[2] George Karl: http://media.weei.com/basketball/george-karl.htm

[3] Anthony Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/anthony-carter.htm

[4] Renaldo Balkman: http://media.weei.com/basketball/renaldo-balkman.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] > Celtics-Nuggets Game Blog: Halftime Adjustments" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/14/celtics-nuggets-game-blog-halftime-adjustments/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.