- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Pistons Game Blog: Second Quarter

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 20, 2008 @ 6:53 pm In General | 1 Comment

SECOND QUARTER WRAP: The Celtics [1] second unit was hot early in the second and pushed the lead up to 38-27. But the Pistons got physical and are within nine half. They’re looking to battle and the Celtics will have to come out hot in the third quarter to stave off a comeback.

Halftime Notes and Numbers:

  • Iverson leads all scorers with 12. Rondo and Tony Allen [2] lead the Celtics with 9 apiece.
  • Both teams have 16 points in the paint and the rest of the stat lines are very similar.
  • The Pistons are outrebounding the Celtics 18-16 while the Celtics have one more assist, 11-10.

Paul has you covered after a entertaining halftime performance by the Bucket Boys [3].

- At the half, Celtics 49, Pistons 40

- Two days after saying KG is “crazier” than him on the court, Perk got T’ed up at the end of the second after Maxiell fouled Pierce at the hoop.

- There is talk of a heated relationship between UConn alums Ray Allen [4] and Rip Hamilton, but few details are known. We’re getting a glimpse into that tonight with Hamilton knocking Allen over for an offensive foul. Hamilton had something to say about it as they ran down the court.

- A little kid dressed in an oversized Bill Walker [5] jersey just won Sarah Brightman tickets in a tot-sized road race. What are the chances he has her songs on iTunes?

- The Celtics have their starters back on the court and the Pistons have all but Wallace out there.

- Both Ray Allen and House have missed free throws this quarter. It was House’s first miss of the season and Allen’s fourth.

- Eddie House [6] is feeling it. After Powe swatted away a Prince drive, House nailed a three on the fast break. He drained another trey on the next possession, prompting the Pistons to call a timeout down 38-27.

- Rip Hamilton completely faked out Tony Allen at the top of the key. TA has learned from his mistakes and didn’t get tricked into fouling him on the shot a la last season against Chauncey Billups [7].

- During a timeout the Celtics played their first “slow dance” of the year on the Jumbotron. It was a slo-mo of awesomely bad dance moves from the Garden set to the awesomely bad Lonestar ballad, “Amazed.”

- Now Aaron Afflalo is guarding Powe (??) … now Afflalo’s on the ground. Powe’s at the line shooting two.

- Scal for three. And the crowd goes wild.

- I was hoping for a physical match up between Powe and Maxiell considering the trouble the Pistons big man gave Perk last season. But Big Baby is on Maxiell and Powe has Prince. Powe should be able to back Prince down in the paint.

- For the first time in a while, Doc is going with an entire second unit. Usually he leaves PIerce or Ray Allen on the court with the reserves, but now he’s giving the lineup of Scal, Powe, Davis, Tony Allen, and House a look. Michael Curry’s going with Iverson, Stuckey, Prince, Afflalo, and Wallace.

- After another slow start, the Celtics enter the second quarter tied 21-21 with the Pistons.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/20/celtics-pistons-game-blog-second-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[3] Bucket Boys: http://www.nba.com/bulls/news/bucket_boys.html

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[6] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[7] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[8] > Celtics-Pistons Game Blog: Second Quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/20/celtics-pistons-game-blog-second-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.