- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Wright Has No Regrets in NBA

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 27, 2008 @ 1:00 am In General | 1 Comment

A year ago Brandan Wright [1] worked out with the Boston Celtics [2] as a top prospect in the 2007 NBA Draft. The Celtics passed on Wright and pulled off the Ray Allen [3] trade, while the big man from UNC landed with the Golden State Warriors [4] by way of the Charlotte Bobcats [5].

Wright has yet to make a splash in the pros and many speculated that he should have stayed past his freshman year. But Wright, 21, is happy to be learning the ropes with the Warriors and enjoys growing up in the NBA.

‘€œYou have all these grown up responsibilities to take care of but I made a decision (to leave UNC) and I’m not regretting it or anything like that,’€ Wright said. ‘€œI’m enjoying myself. I think it would have been good both ways.’€


Wright stays in close contact with head coach Roy Williams [6], who frequently encourages him to stay upbeat. He predicts the Tar Heels [7] could be cutting down the nets [8] this season, partially in thanks to Tyler Hansbrough [9]. Unlike Wright, Hansbrough opted for the NCAA [10] over the NBA.

‘€œI think from his perspective, I think he really enjoys school a lot,’€ Wright said. ‘€œNot saying I didn’t enjoy school because I really did, but he just loves college. He just wants to be there, he wants to be around the guys. I guess he still wants to kind of be a kid for a couple more years. The NBA isn’t going anywhere, it’s not going to fold or anything like that. It’s always going to be there for him.’€

Wright is averaging 7.3 points and 4.0 rebounds in his second season with the Warriors.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/27/wright-has-no-regrets-in-nba/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brandan Wright: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandan-wright.htm

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Golden State Warriors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/golden-state-warriors.htm

[5] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[6] Roy Williams: http://media.weei.com/football/roy_williams.htm

[7] Tar Heels: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-roy-williams.htm

[8] the nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[9] Tyler Hansbrough: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyler-hansbrough.htm

[10] NCAA: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa.htm

[11] > Wright Has No Regrets in NBA" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/27/wright-has-no-regrets-in-nba/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.