- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics Named GQ Men of the Year

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 28, 2008 @ 11:39 pm In General | 1 Comment

Their World Championship put them in the company of Bill Russell [1] and Larry Bird [2]. Now their NBA title has ranked them alongside President-Elect Barack Obama, Sean Penn, and Michael Phelps [3].

The Boston Celtics were honored by GQ Magazine as Men of the Year: The Athletes, Actors, and Newsmakers who Blew our Minds in ’08. [4] The issue, which is on newsstands now, features a photo of Doc Rivers [5] and the starting five at HealthPoint training facility in Waltham. Four of the 17 championship banners hang behind them.

Celtics [6] great JoJo White writes for the magazine:

‘€œIt had been twenty-two years since we last reached that pinnacle. Twenty-two long, long years between NBA Championships … So when we got Ray Allen [7] to pair with Paul Pierce [8] in the off-season, you thought, Well, that’s good. He’s always been a heck of a shooter. But when we got Garnett on top of Paul and Ray? You knew something special could happen. But it had to happen because of defense. The truth of the matter is that the Celtics always won because of defense. You don’t get seventeen championships by accident.

‘€œAs for beating the Lakers in the finals? That’s sweet. That’s always sweet. But really, this was for Red Auerbach [9] … There was a beauty to it ending on our home court with Red looking down on us. And he got the last laugh. He always did.’€

Others honored include Senator Ted Kennedy, Chris Paul [10], Leonardo DiCaprio, Josh Hamilton [11], and Jon Hamm.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/28/celtics-named-gq-men-of-the-year/

URLs in this post:

[1] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[2] Larry Bird: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-bird.htm

[3] Michael Phelps: http://media.weei.com/olympics/michael-phelps.htm

[4] The Boston Celtics were honored by GQ Magazine as Men of the Year: The Athletes, Actors, and Newsmakers who Blew our Minds in ’08.: http://men.style.com/gq/features/moty/2008/portfolio

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[9] Red Auerbach: http://media.weei.com/basketball/red-auerbach.htm

[10] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[11] Josh Hamilton: http://media.weei.com/baseball/josh-hamilton.htm

[12] > Celtics Named GQ Men of the Year" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/11/28/celtics-named-gq-men-of-the-year/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.