- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Pierce’s D Helps Celtics Earn the W

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 3, 2008 @ 9:24 pm In General | 1 Comment

The stat line will tell the story of Rajon Rondo [1]‘s triple-double, Ray Allen [2]‘s 31 points, and Kevin Garnett [3]‘s 14 rebounds. But what it won’t show is the stifling defense Paul Pierce [4] imposed on Danny Granger [5]. Pierce held Granger to just six second half point (20 total) and shut down the Pacers leading scorer.

‘€œPaul’s always been a good defensive player,’€ Granger said after the Pacers 114-96 loss. ‘€œKG’s a candidate for Defensive Player of the Year and I think that’s one of the things that makes this team good. They can score the ball but they also play good defense.’€

Granger scored 14 points in the first half with the majority coming while Ray Allen was guarding him. The defensive switch worked for the Celtics [6] and Granger finished the night shooting 7-for-15, including just one basket in the paint. Pierce’s tough defense combined with the Pacers’ exhaustion from Tuesday’s overtime win against the Lakers was too much for Granger to overcome.

‘€œI just got a little tired,’€ he said. ‘€œIt’s hard playing back to back games sometimes, especially when you fight so hard to win one game. You have lapses and your legs give out but that’s still no excuse. Everyone plays back to back games. You’ve just got find a way to find through. Tonight we couldn’t.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/03/pierces-d-helps-celtics-earn-the-w/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Danny Granger: http://media.weei.com/basketball/danny-granger.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] > Pierce’s D Helps Celtics Earn the W" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/03/pierces-d-helps-celtics-earn-the-w/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.