- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Trail Blazers Game Day Blog: Second Quarter

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 5, 2008 @ 6:40 pm In General | 1 Comment

At the half … Celtics [1] 49, Trail Blazers 36

FIRST HALF WRAP: The Trail Blazers have been hot but their youth and inexperience is falling short against the Celtics. After holding their own in the first quarter, the Trail Blazers find themselves down by at the end of the half. Ray Allen [2] leads all scorers with 11 points in a well-balanced game.  He is the only player in double-digits. The Celtics have outrebounded the Trail Blazers 23-15 and got to the line 11 more times.


Leon Powe [3] kicked off the second quarter with a drive and drew a quick foul. With Greg Oden [4] on the bench, the Celtics can capitalize on the extra space in the paint. Pierce is playing with the second unit again, which tonight includes Brian Scalabrine [5].

– The Spanish duo of Rudy Fernandez and Sergio Rodriguez are playing together. Fernandez has been hyped for so long and I’m very interested in seeing what he can do in the NBA. After all, not every player is greeted by a swarm of fans [6] when they touch down in Portland.

– Notable substitutions: Brandon Roy [7] stretched in between quarters and has returned to the game. Gabe Pruitt [8] is also seeing significant minutes in a close game. Pruitt and Eddie House [9] in the backcourt help the Celtics match the Trail Blazers speed.

– Fernandez is trying to guard Perk. Wonder how that’s going to work out … (By the way, if Fernandez looks familiar [10] it’s probably because of his celebreality look-alike [11].

– With the lead up to eight, Tony Allen [12] (dressed in street clothes) was on his feet cheering and holding his hand to his ear to encourage the crowd.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/05/celtics-blazers-game-day-blog-second-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[4] Greg Oden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-oden.htm

[5] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[6] greeted by a swarm of fans: http://blog.oregonlive.com/blazers/2008/09/video_portland_welcomes_rudy_f.html

[7] Brandon Roy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-roy.htm

[8] Gabe Pruitt: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gabe-pruitt.htm

[9] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[10] Fernandez looks familiar: http://blog.oregonlive.com/blazers/2008/04/rudy.jpg

[11] celebreality look-alike: http://www.gossipboulevard.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/brody-jenner-teen-vogue-young-hollywood-party-xn0h7c.jpg

[12] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[13] > Celtics-Trail Blazers Game Day Blog: Second Quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/05/celtics-blazers-game-day-blog-second-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.