- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Wrap Up: Celtics vs. Trail Blazers

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 5, 2008 @ 9:55 pm In General | 1 Comment

RECAP: Boston Celtics 93, Portland Trail Blazers 78 [1]

Greg Oden [2] scored 5 points in his Boston debut en route to a 93-78 Celtics [3] victory over the Trail Blazers. Oden’s only two field goals came in the first seven minutes of the game. He hit a single free throw late in the fourth quarter.

‘€œThey’€™re the World Champions, and we wanted to see where we are at right now,” Oden said. “We can tell that we’€™re not there. Everybody will see that we lost by 15, but we were down by 20 the whole entire fourth quarter. That’€™s just not where we’€™re at yet. Those guys are still the World Champions, and we’€™re still working and getting better each day.’€

The Celtics led a balanced attack, with Ray Alen scoring a game-high 19 points. The starting five combined for 76 points and Leon Powe [4] added 14 off the bench. They were more proud of holding the Trail Blazers to 78 points than scoring 93.

‘€œOur strength right now is the defense,” Kevin Garnett [5] said. “We’€™ve embraced it and that’€™s what we hang our hat on every night. We know that in order for us to be the team that we want to be we have to play that. I think for the most part we’€™ve been consistent with it. It’€™s definitely our foundation right now.’€

The Celtics will take on the Indiana Pacers [6] on Sunday in Indy. Friday’s win (19-2) ties them with the best record through 21 games. Paul Pierce [7] is seven points away from surpassing Kevin McHale [8] as the Celtics fourth all-time leading scorer.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/05/wrap-up-celtics-vs-trail-blazers/

URLs in this post:

[1] RECAP: Boston Celtics 93, Portland Trail Blazers 78: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2008120502&home=2&vis=22

[2] Greg Oden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-oden.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Indiana Pacers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/indiana-pacers.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Kevin McHale: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-mchale.htm

[9] > Wrap Up: Celtics vs. Trail Blazers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/05/wrap-up-celtics-vs-trail-blazers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.