- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rondo Struggles in Early All-Star Voting

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 11, 2008 @ 11:37 am In General | 6 Comments

Despite his recent triple-double and the fact that most of the Eastern Conference has been Rondo’d this season, Boston Celtics [1] point guard Rajon Rondo [2] is struggling in early All-Star voting results.

On Thursday the first returns of the 2009 NBA All-Star ballots were announced, with Dwight Howard [3] leading all votes (775,933) and Kobe Bryant [4] leading the Western Conference (719,252). Kevin Garnett [5] ranks fourth in the East (495,514) behind LeBron James [6] (643,786) and Dwyane Wade [7] (623,311).

Of the five Celtics starters on the ballot, Rondo is the only one not in top 10 voting at his position. Guard Gilbert Arenas [8], who has not played a game this season, has received nearly 65,000 votes. Below are the results for Eastern Conference voting:

Forwards: LeBron James (Clev) 643,786; Kevin Garnett (Bos) 495,514; Yi Jianlian (NJ) 356,556; Chris Bosh (Tor) 274,195; Paul Pierce [9] (Bos) 153,512; Shawn Marion [10] (Mia) 144,066; Josh Smith (Atl) 59,574; Tayshaun Prince [11] (Det) 56,846; Hedo Turkoglu [12] (Orl) 56,006; Danny Granger [13] (Ind) 49,752; Michael Beasley (Mia) 48,999.

Guards: Dwyane Wade (Mia) 623,311; Allen Iverson [14] (Det) 492,093; Vince Carter [15] (NJ) 236,634; Ray Allen [16] (Bos) 174,155; Jose Calderon (Tor) 124,705; Luke Ridnour (Mil) 123,104; Jameer Nelson (Orl) 116,228; Derrick Rose [17] (Chi) 102,263; Joe Johnson [18] (Atl) 94,847; Devin Harris (NJ) 94, 294; Gilbert Arenas (Wash) 64,450.

Centers: Dwight Howard (Orl) 775;933; Samuel Dalembert (Phi) 116,708; Rasheed Wallace [19] (Det) 88,885; Jermaine O’€™Neal (Tor) 75,324; Al Horford (Atl) 45,284; Ben Wallace [20] (Clev) 40,799; Andrew Bogut [21] (Mil) 36,479; Zyrdrunas Ilgauskas (Clev) 28,022; Kendrick Perkins [22] (Bos) 24,777; Emeka Okafor [23] (Char) 15,323.

All-Star voting is available on www.nba.com [24].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/11/rondo-struggles-in-early-all-star-voting/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[7] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[8] Gilbert Arenas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gilbert-arenas.htm

[9] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[10] Shawn Marion: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shawn-marion.htm

[11] Tayshaun Prince: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tayshaun-prince.htm

[12] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[13] Danny Granger: http://media.weei.com/basketball/danny-granger.htm

[14] Allen Iverson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/allen-iverson.htm

[15] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[16] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[17] Derrick Rose: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[18] Joe Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joe-johnson.htm

[19] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[20] Ben Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-wallace.htm

[21] Andrew Bogut: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bogut.htm

[22] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[23] Emeka Okafor: http://media.weei.com/basketball/emeka-okafor.htm

[24] www.nba.com: http://www.nba.com/allstar2009/asb/eng/landing.jsp?cid=131a

[25] > Rondo Struggles in Early All-Star Voting" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/11/rondo-struggles-in-early-all-star-voting/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[26]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.