- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Hornets Game Blog: Second Quarter

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 12, 2008 @ 6:41 pm In General | 1 Comment

For a first quarter recap, check out Paul’s blog [1].

– Interesting match up to start the second quarter. Tony Allen [2] is guarding James Posey [3], the very player who ate up his minutes last season. Now TA is the Celtics [4] first option at the wing off the bench, and tonight will be a test to see how far he has come since last season.

– Trivia tidbit … Leon Powe [5] and Sean Marks are both alumni of the University of the California. Marks, who has spent a quiet 10 years in the league, is only the second New Zealand native [6] to play in the NBA. Kirk Penney played a total of six games for the Miami Heat [7] and Los Angeles Clippers [8] a few years back.

– The look on Devin Brown’s face was classic when Rajon Rondo [9] blew past the Hornets defenders on a drive to the hoop. After the lay-in Brown stood in the paint in confusion, as if looking at his teammates for an explanation of how that just happened.

– This summer Posey proved basketball is a business and tonight Pierce followed in his footsteps. Pierce drained a three in the face of his former teammate. He hit another one over three-point king Peja Stojakovic, which was cause for a high-five between Eddie House [10] and Sam Cassell.

– Give the Hornets more credit than a 12-win team. They have a one-point lead at halftime and have the Celtics looking scrambled in the first 24 minutes. The Celtics simply aren’t going inside, instead settling for 4-for-11 shooting from three-point range. To that note, Pierce has just one basket in the paint. Too many passes away from the basket have the Celtics forcing low-percentage shots and struggling to grasp a consistent lead.

At the half … Hornets 40, Celtics 39

Back to Paul for the third [11]


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/12/celtics-hornets-game-blog-second-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] check out Paul’s blog: http://blogs.weei.com/paulflannery/2008/12/12/celtics-hornets-game-blog-first-quarter/

[2] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[3] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[6] New Zealand native: http://www.basketball-reference.com/friv/birthplaces.cgi?country=NZ&state=

[7] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[8] Los Angeles Clippers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-clippers.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[11] Back to Paul for the third: http://blogs.weei.com/paulflannery/2008/12/12/celtics-hornets-game-blog-third-quarter/

[12] > Celtics-Hornets Game Blog: Second Quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/12/celtics-hornets-game-blog-second-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.