- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics Battle Traffic, Then Jazz

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 15, 2008 @ 5:30 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Boston Celtics [1] had to battle a different kind of opponent before their game against the Utah Jazz [2]: Traffic. A mid-afternoon accident caused major delays on 93 North in Boston, a popular route to the TD BankNorth Garden [3]. Twenty minute rides turned into hour-long endeavors as many of the players sat in gridlock traffic. Kendrick Perkins [4], Leon Powe [5], and Brian Scalabrine [6] showed up after 6pm and hurried to get in their pregame shots. Rajon Rondo [7] arrived around 6:45.

This is a game where Rondo would probably appreciate extra practice time. Even though Deron Williams is recovering from an ankle injury, he still poses a oversized challenge for the Celtics point guard. Rondo will look to use his speed and length to outplay Williams, who is second in the league in assists. Williams couldn’t quantify just how fast Rondo is but noted that rookies Russell Westbrook [8] and Mario Chalmers [9] are already showing the most similarities to Rondo’s game.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/15/celtics-battle-traffic-then-jazz/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Utah Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[3] TD BankNorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[9] Mario Chalmers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mario-chalmers.htm

[10] > Celtics Battle Traffic, Then Jazz" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/15/celtics-battle-traffic-then-jazz/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.