- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Preview: Boston Celtics vs. Philadelphia 76ers

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 22, 2008 @ 10:50 pm In General | 1 Comment

On Tuesday night the Boston Celtics [1] (26-2) will take on the Philadelphia 76ers [2] (12-15) at the TD BankNorth Garden [3]. The Celtics enter the game on an 18-game winning streak and could break the franchise mark for consecutive wins with a victory over the Sixers. They also have the chance to set a new NBA record for best start with two losses.

The Big Three + Two
The impressive play by Rajon Rondo [4] and Kendrick Perkins [5] is making headlines nationwide, from ESPN.com features on Rondo to CBS Sports plugs for Perk as a fantasy basketball must-have. So just how well have these two young starters been playing as of late? Let’s take a look at the last five games …

Perkins
17 blocked shots (T-4 NBA): ahead of Dwight Howard [6], Tim Duncan [7], and Yao Ming [8]
13.8 PPG: ahead of centers Andrew Bynum [9], Tyson Chandler [10], and Andrew Bogut [11]
11.4 RPG: ahead of Chris Bosh, Shaquille O’Neal [12], and Zach Randolph [13], tied fourth among all centers with Al Jefferson [14]

Rondo
16.0 PPG: ahead of Andre Iguodala [15], Baron Davis [16], and Manu Ginobili [17]
7.4 APG: ahead of Chauncey Billups [18], Jason Kidd [19], and Tony Parker [20]
6.4 RPG: ahead of Kobe Bryant [21], Brandon Roy [22], and Dwyane Wade [23]

Injury Update
The Celtics bench will be one-man short for the second game in a row. Glen ‘€œBig Baby’€ Davis will sit out with a concussion and cervical strain sustained in a car accident on Sunday. Davis is listed as day-to-day. The 76ers will be without starting forward Elton Brand, who is sidelined at least a month with a dislocated shoulder. Last season, before acquiring Brand, the Sixers stifled the Celtics with their running game. Their post-game failed miserably this season against the Cs but the absence of Brand may allow them to get out and go, which could pose a challenge. Sixers guard Willie Green (ankle) is also day-to-day.

Making Enemies Early
Marreese Speights made a rookie mistake by losing his poise late in the Celtics 102-78 win back in November. The big man was ejected with 43 seconds left for committing a flagrant foul against Brian Scalabrine [24]. Don’t be surprised if Speights is booed for messing with Scal.

In the Last Five Games …
Celtics: 106.4 PPG, +12.2 differential, 53.5% FG, 41.8% 3PG, 71.2% FT, 24.2 APG, 45.0 RPG, 8.4 SPG
76ers: 94.4 PPG, +1.8 differential, 46.8% FG, 26.2% 3PG, 76.3% FT, 20.6 APG, 42.0 RPG, 7.6 SPG

Check back with WEEI’s Celtics Game Day Blog [25] for all the action from the TD BankNorth Garden.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/22/preview-boston-celtics-vs-philadelphia-76ers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Philadelphia 76ers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/philadelphia-76ers.htm

[3] TD BankNorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[7] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[8] Yao Ming: http://media.weei.com/basketball/yao-ming.htm

[9] Andrew Bynum: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bynum.htm

[10] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[11] Andrew Bogut: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bogut.htm

[12] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[13] Zach Randolph: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zach-randolph.htm

[14] Al Jefferson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-jefferson.htm

[15] Andre Iguodala: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-iguodala.htm

[16] Baron Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/baron-davis.htm

[17] Manu Ginobili: http://media.weei.com/basketball/manu-ginobili.htm

[18] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[19] Jason Kidd: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-kidd.htm

[20] Tony Parker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-parker.htm

[21] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[22] Brandon Roy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-roy.htm

[23] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[24] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[25] Celtics Game Day Blog: http://blogs.weei.com/celtics-game-day-blog/

[26] > Preview: Boston Celtics vs. Philadelphia 76ers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/22/preview-boston-celtics-vs-philadelphia-76ers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[27]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.