- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Could the Cavs Catch Up?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 29, 2008 @ 9:01 am In General | 1 Comment

The Boston Celtics [1] sudden two-game skid put the tight Eastern Conference race into perspective. It took just two losses for the Cleveland Cavaliers [2] to be one game within the lead in the East. The Celtics and Cavs will battle next week in Cleveland, where the Cavs are a perfect 16-0. If both teams continue on a winning pace, it is a match up that could alter the standings. But could one team falter before then? Here is a look at their schedules before they meet next Friday, January 9.

Boston Celtics
December 30 @ Portland Trail Blazers (19-12)
January 2 vs. Washington Wizards [3] (5-23)
January 4 @ New York Knicks [4] (11-18)
January 6 @ Charlotte Bobcats [5] (11-20)
January 7 vs. Houston Rockets [6] (20-11)

Cleveland Cavaliers
December 30 @ Miami Heat [7] (16-13)
January 2 vs. Chicago Bulls [8] (13-17)
January 4 @ Washington Wizards (5-23)
January 7 vs. Charlotte Bobcats (11-20)

The Celtics and Cavs have more to worry about than just each other. The Orlando Magic [9], currently on a seven-game winning streak, are only three games behind the Cs.

(Standings as of December 29)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/29/could-the-cavs-catch-up/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[3] Washington Wizards: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[4] New York Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[5] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[6] Houston Rockets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/houston-rockets.htm

[7] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[8] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[9] Orlando Magic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[10] > Could the Cavs Catch Up?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2008/12/29/could-the-cavs-catch-up/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.