- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game Preview: Boston Celtics vs. Washington Wizards

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 1, 2009 @ 10:21 pm In General | 1 Comment

Last week the Boston Celtics [1] headed out West on a 19-game winning streak and seemed unstoppable. On Friday night they will return to the TD BankNorth Garden [2] looking surprisingly vulnerable after going 1-3 on their road trip. The Celtics (28-5) will look to snap out of their skid against the Washington Wizards [3] (6-24). On paper this looks like a guaranteed win for the Cs, but after falling to the sub-.300 Golden State Warriors [4] and Brandon Roy-less Portland Trail Blazers, suddenly no team can be counted out.

The Skid in Review
The Christmas Day loss to the Los Angeles Lakers [5] was, just like any other loss, tough for the Celtics to swallow. But more worrisome than falling to a title contender was losing to the then 8-22 Warriors. Follow that up with an unexpected defeat to the shorthanded Trail Blazers, and their 45-point rout over the Sacramento Kings [6] meant nothing. The trio of quick losses has put the Cleveland Cavaliers [7] just one-game back for first in the East and the Orlando Magic [8] are right on their heels.

Wizards Looking for Some Magic
The last time the Celtics and Wizards met up, the Cs handed their injury-ridden opponents a 122-88 loss. The Wizards have looked tougher in the past week ‘€“ they upset the Houston Rockets [9] without Caron Butler, nearly knocked off the Cavs, and hung close against the New Orleans Hornets [10]. Even though Butler (ankle) is expected to be back in the lineup on Friday, his 19 points were useless in their last meeting.

Do the Wizards have enough momentum to shock the Cs in Boston? Don’€™t count on it. The Celtics may have been rattled but that’€™s even more motivation to come out swinging on their home court. They avenged two consecutive losses with a beat down on the Sacramento Kings and the Wiz shouldn’€™t expect any less fire.

Tip-off is at 7:30pm. Stay with WEEI.com’€™s Celtics Game Day Blog for all the latest from the Garden.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/01/game-preview-boston-celtics-vs-washington-wizards/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] TD BankNorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[3] Washington Wizards: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[4] Golden State Warriors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/golden-state-warriors.htm

[5] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[6] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[7] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[8] Orlando Magic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[9] Houston Rockets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/houston-rockets.htm

[10] New Orleans Hornets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-orleans-hornets.htm

[11] > Game Preview: Boston Celtics vs. Washington Wizards" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/01/game-preview-boston-celtics-vs-washington-wizards/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.