- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Cs to be challenged by one of their own

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 8, 2009 @ 11:42 pm In General | 1 Comment

Before Rajon Rondo [1] was taking hard spills on the court, it was Delonte West [2] who was sacrificing his body for the Boston Celtics [3]. Two years after leaving the Cs as part of the Ray Allen [4] deal, West has brought his hustle to the Cleveland where it has sparked LeBron James [5] and the streaking Cavaliers [6]. Those who played with West early in his career are not surprised by his success.

‘€œThere’s no doubt that I thought before Delonte even went there, I thought Delonte was a perfect fit for LeBron James,’€ said Brian Scalabrine [7], a teammate of two seasons. ‘€œWhen he got traded to Seattle and he wasn’t playing for whatever, it’s just all about the place you go and where you fit in.’€

West has fit in perfectly since being dealt from the Seattle SuperSonics [8] last season. The addition of West, along with Mo Williams [9], is an upgrade to the Cavaliers backcourt that once relied heavily on James’ long-range game. Rather than compensating for the inconsistencies of Daniel Gibson and Sasha Pavlovic [10], James can play closer to the basket without worrying about their guards.

West’s gritty defense is also a factor in the Cavs’ NBA-low 89.1 points allowed per game (down from 96.7 last season). His intensity will be challenging for the Celtics to contain when they take on the Cavaliers on Friday night.

‘€œD-West has helped them a lot,’€ said Kendrick Perkins [11], who played three seasons with West. ‘€œHe puts another shooter out there on the court for LeBron to pass it to when he drives and penetrates. D-West can make plays. He’s a defender, he’s very feisty, and D-West helps their team a lot. We’ve just got to make sure we go out there and try to keep him under control, keep him off the offensive rebounding, try to get in his aspects a little bit, and just go from there.’€

After losing for three years in Boston and inexplicably riding the bench in Seattle, West inked a multi-year deal last summer to stay in Cleveland. Even though his tough play could burn the Celtics this season, his former teammates know he’s in the right place.

Said Scalabrine, ‘€œI told him when he came here (with the Cavs), ‘Listen, you’re in a place where you can be, as long as LeBron is there, you can be there for the rest of your career and you can thrive in that situation.”€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/08/celtic-to-be-challenged-by-one-of-their-own/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[6] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[7] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[8] Seattle SuperSonics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[9] Mo Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mo-williams.htm

[10] Sasha Pavlovic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/aleksandar-pavlovic.htm

[11] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[12] > Cs to be challenged by one of their own" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/08/celtic-to-be-challenged-by-one-of-their-own/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.