- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Sounds of the game… Celtics 115, Raptors 109 OT

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 13, 2009 @ 6:42 am In General | 1 Comment

Maybe Kevin Garnett [1] is right. Maybe the Celtics [2] should play the theme from Superman every time Paul Pierce [3] steps on the court. On a bum right knee, or at least very ‘ginger’ as Pierce himself said, the Celtics captain made 13 of his 26 shots and totaled a season-high 39 points to lead the Celtics to a 115-109 overtime win against the Toronto Raptors [4] Monday night at TD Banknorth Garden [5]. With the Celtics already missing starting center Kendrick Perkins [6] with a bad left shoulder and Tony Allen [7] in a protective boot with a sprained right ankle, Pierce picked it up a notch for the entire game, even when Andrea Bargnani hit a three with one second remaining. Pierce did have a supporting cast, as Kevin Garnett scored 20, Ray Allen [8] 12 and Brian Scalabrine [9], playing for Perkins, chipped in with 11, including three three-pointers.

Paul Pierce said he can play through the injury [10].

Pierce and Garnett together talk about Pierce’s secret weapon on dealing with the pain [11].

Garnett has an idea for those running the music at the Garden [12].

Head coach Doc Rivers said Pierce has a way of playing through the pain [13].

Rivers said Scalabrine has a way of getting the job done [14].

Scalabrine said this was just a good win [15].

Doc Rivers describes what Kendrick Perkins is going through [16].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/13/celtics-raptors-paul-pierce-kevin-garnett-brian-scalabrine-sounds-of-the-game-celtics-1/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Toronto Raptors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/toronto-raptors.htm

[5] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[10] Paul Pierce said he can play through the injury: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11296

[11] Pierce and Garnett together talk about Pierce’s secret weapon on dealing with the pain: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11297

[12] Garnett has an idea for those running the music at the Garden: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11299

[13] Head coach Doc Rivers said Pierce has a way of playing through the pain: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11300

[14] Rivers said Scalabrine has a way of getting the job done: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11301

[15] Scalabrine said this was just a good win: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11302

[16] Doc Rivers describes what Kendrick Perkins is going through: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=11303

[17] > Sounds of the game… Celtics 115, Raptors 109 OT" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/13/celtics-raptors-paul-pierce-kevin-garnett-brian-scalabrine-sounds-of-the-game-celtics-1/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.