- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game Preview: Twin Tower

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 14, 2009 @ 9:15 am In General | 1 Comment

Boston Celtics [1] (31-9) vs. New Jersey Nets [2] (19-19)

It is never easy when a starting center goes down. With Kendrick Perkins [3] out at least a week, Doc Rivers [4] will have to use an undersized rotation of Brian Scalabrine [5] and Leon Powe [6] at the five spot. The Celtics caught a break in the past two games when the Toronto Raptors [7] were without Jermaine O’€™Neal, but on Wednesday night the New Jersey Nets could pose a sizable challenge ‘€¦ a 7′ challenge to be exact.

Brook Lopez [8], the twin brother of Phoenix Suns [9] center Robin, is emerging as a rookie to watch this season. He is coming off of a career-high 31 point, 13 rebound performance against the Oklahoma City Thunder [10] and is averaging 10 points, 9 rebounds, and 2 blocks in the last ten games. Lopez isn’€™t just beating up on lottery teams either. He posted 17 points, 10 rebounds against the Los Angeles Lakers [11] and 15 points, 13 boards against the Cleveland Cavaliers [12].

Tip-off is at 7:30pm EST. Stay with WEEI’€™s Celtics Game Day Blog for all the latest from the Garden.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/celtics-game-preview-twin-tower/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[3] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[6] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[7] Toronto Raptors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/toronto-raptors.htm

[8] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[9] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[10] Oklahoma City Thunder: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[11] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[12] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[13] > Game Preview: Twin Tower" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/celtics-game-preview-twin-tower/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.