- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Nets Game Blog: Second Quarter

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 14, 2009 @ 8:14 pm In General | No Comments

FIRST HALF NUMBERS: Celtics [1] lead 51-41 at halftime thanks to 52.6% shooting from the field. KG leads all players with 14 points (6/8 FG) and Ray Allen [2] has 10. The Celtics have also attempted 12 treys (4/12 3PG) compared to the Nets [3] four (1/4). They slowed down Devin Harris in the second quarter (5 points) and limited his passing to just two assists.

Second Quarter Notes

– The second quarter gets underway with Ray AllenPaul Pierce [4] … Big Baby smiling from ear-to-ear after draining a three from way past the arc. That was Davis’ first trey of his NBA career.

– Pierce is in with the second unit (Davis/Powe/House/Pruitt). Vince Carter [5], who threw himself on to the Nets bench earlier in the game, is on the court. He’s a little hobbled but still aggressive at the hoop.

– Kudos to Big Baby for his effort on the boards. He may not be grabbing every missed shot but he is in the mix each time the ball goes up.

– Back by popular demand (allegedly), Celtics Slow Dance 3. It’s another slo-mo video montage of memorable dance moves from the Garden set to LoneStar’s “Amazed.” I’ll give the prize to my personal favorite, Soulja Boy Junior.

Brook Lopez [6] is back in with Davis and Powe as the Celtics big men. Doc Rivers [7], who has been watching Lopez since high school, said the key to guarding him is keeping him off the glass rather than trying to get your own rebounds.

– No look pass from KG to Big Baby for a three-point play. I hope the fans sitting courtside were looking when Davis jumped into them chasing a loose ball. Davis has four fouls in 12 minutes, not including barrelling over spectators.

– Who said Rondo didn’t have a jumper? He drained a 20-footer as the shot clock expired. If only he could do that every night …

– KG ended the second quarter with huge “think about this at halftime” dunk.

- At the half … Celtics 51, Nets 41


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/celtics-nets-game-blog-second-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[6] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] > Celtics-Nets Game Blog: Second Quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/celtics-nets-game-blog-second-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.