- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rhythm key for Perkins

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 14, 2009 @ 7:27 pm In General | 1 Comment

Before Wednesday night’s game against the New Jersey Nets [1], Kendrick Perkins [2] broke a sweat working on his post moves. He banked shots over Patrick O’Bryant [3] and then sprinted down the court at the orders of Sam Cassell. This would seem like just another night, except Perkins is injured. That isn’t stopping the big man, though, from keeping his rhythm.

‘€œI’m just trying to stay on top of my conditioning,’€ Perkins said prior to the game. ‘€œI don’t want to lose my rhythm so I’m working on my post moves, doing a lot of shots, I did some jump roping, and a lot of court running, and stuff like that. I don’t want to be too far off.’€

Perkins will miss at least a week with a reoccurring shoulder injury. It has plagued him since a Christmas Day game against the Los Angeles Lakers [4], according to Celtics [5] head coach Doc Rivers [6], and is the explanation behind his recent inconsistency on the glass. As a precaution, Perkins is avoiding physical contact. Other than that, he’s following the same routine.

‘€œI just [can't] play basketball, contact, that’s it,’€ he said. ‘€œI hit the weights earlier today so it’s getting better by the day … You’ve got to scale back but it never really fell off. I’m pretty much on the same page, I’m just doing different type of exercises now to work different parts of the muscle, so that’s really what I’m concentrating on.’€

Perkins hopes to play next Monday against the Phoenix Suns [7], but said he is not going to rush his return. As for Brian Scalabrine [8], who has been filling in for Perkins, his return against Shaquille O’Neal [9] would be perfect timing.

‘€œWow,’€ said a wide-eyed Scalabrine, unaware of the upcoming match up. ‘€œI’d like the opportunity to start but Perk is the guy who should be on the Diesel.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/rhythm-key-for-perkins/

URLs in this post:

[1] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[2] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[3] Patrick O’Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/patrick-obryant.htm

[4] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[8] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[9] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[10] > Rhythm key for Perkins" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/14/rhythm-key-for-perkins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.