- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

The Scalabrine Streak

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 17, 2009 @ 3:58 pm In General | 3 Comments

After a 20-point win over the New Jersey Nets [1] on Saturday (RECAP HERE [2]), the Boston Celtics [3] are 5-0 with Brian Scalabrine [4] in their starting lineup. It is an improbable stat for a player who often times was one of the last off the bench.

1-0: November 18, 2008
Celtics 110, Knicks 101

Scalabrine gets his first start of the season with Kevin Garnett [5] serving a one-game suspension. He hits key trey late in the fourth to secure a dwindling Celtics lead. Scalabrine finishes the night with eight points and three rebounds.

2-0: January 11, 2009
Celtics 94, Raptors 88

In his first start at the center position in place of Kendrick Perkins [6], Scalabrine proves he’€™s no pushover when he holds his own in an altercation with Joey Graham. He scores seven points and the Celtics are a team-high +15 with him on the court.

3-0: January 12, 2009
Celtics 115, Raptors 109

Scalabrine scores eight of his 11 points in the third quarter to combat a threatening Raptors run. He knocks down a field goal and pair of threes in just nine minutes in front of a Garden crowd who can’€™t get enough of the fan favorite.

4-0: January 14, 2009
Celtics 118, Nets 86

Before the game Scalabrine says he can’€™t focus on the match up with 7′€™ Brook Lopez [7]. Instead he focuses on the team and adds nine points and four rebounds in 27 minutes for the Celtics.

5-0: January 17, 2009
Celtics 105, Nets 85

Scalabrine continues to spread the offense and helps the Celtics get out to an 18-2 lead. Not only is Scalabrine effective at the basket (11 points, 4 rebounds), he makes James Posey-esque hustle plays to add a spark to the starting lineup.

Perkins is questionable for Monday’s game against the Phoenix Suns [8], which would put Scalabrine’s undefeated record on the line against Shaquille O’Neal [9]. Even though Scalabrine was wide-eyed when he said Perkins is best suited to handle O’Neal, the feisty red-head is never one to back down from a challenge.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/17/celticsthe-scalabrine-streak/

URLs in this post:

[1] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[2] RECAP HERE: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009011717&home=17&vis=2

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[8] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[9] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[10] > The Scalabrine Streak" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/17/celticsthe-scalabrine-streak/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.