- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Suns expecting big game from Shaq

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 19, 2009 @ 7:38 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Phoenix Suns [1] have the size advantage almost every game with Shaquille O’Neal [2]. Take the Boston Celtics [3] biggest player off the court and the Suns are feeling good about the mismatch.

‘€œAny time we get an opportunity to have a size difference with Shaq in the paint, we always try to go to him,’€ Amare Stoudemire said prior to Monday’s game. ‘€œWe try to feed it to him, see if he can take advantage of that. And if not, we go to our other options. So tonight will be a pretty good night for Big Fella if he can dominate out there and stay out of foul trouble.’€

The Celtics have to alter their plan of attack without Kendrick Perkins [4] (shoulder). Doc Rivers [5] is looking for Kevin Garnett [6] to use his quickness to outplay Shaq, while the biggest mission for back ups Leon Powe [7], Glen Davis [8], and Brian Scalabrine [9] is keeping a body between O’Neal and the basket. The Suns, though, aren’t changing their gameplan.

‘€œI think it changes the fact that having Scalabrine starting as opposed to Kendrick Perkins, that’s a bit of a difference. But as opponents we can’t look at it that way,’€ said Stoudemire. ‘€œWe’ve got to attack it as if he were playing, so we should go inside to the big fella. Shaq should have a pretty good game tonight.’€

The Suns are one of the few teams who figured out the key to beating the Celtics last season. Stoudemire scored 28 points off of 10-for-23 shooting and Steve Nash [10] added 18 in the Suns’ 85-77 victory [11]. Combine that with former Charlotte Bobcat Jason Richardson’s success against the Cs and the Suns think they know how to get it done tonight.

‘€œI’m pretty sure he knows how to defend the guards out there,’€ Stoudemir said of Richardson. ‘€œAs a team, we’ve just got to pull together. We beat them last year, Bobcats beat them. What we’ve got to do is just keep playing how we’ve been playing.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/19/suns-expecting-big-game-from-shaq/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[2] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[8] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[9] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[10] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[11] Suns’ 85-77 victory: http://www.basketball-reference.com/boxscores/200802220PHO.html

[12] > Suns expecting big game from Shaq" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/19/suns-expecting-big-game-from-shaq/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.