- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

A Big All-Star Push

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 23, 2009 @ 9:47 am In General | 1 Comment

When is there a possibility that 22 points and nearly 11 rebounds per game not good enough for an All-Star selection? When you play on the 13-27 Minnesota Timberwolves [1].

“Big Al” Jefferson [2] has been quietly running up the leaderboards since being traded from the Boston Celtics [3] in July of 2007. His performance, which includes 22 double-doubles, went relatively unnoticed in fan voting. So the T’€™Wolves are doing everything they can to make sure Jefferson receives the recognition he deserves in spite of their losing record.

The organization has less than a week to win the votes of the Western Conference coaches who will vote on All-Star reserves. They have developed a marketing campaign ‘€“ ‘€œBig Al’s Road Trip: Navigating his way to Phoenix’€ ‘€“ and mailed each coach a Sony GPS device. The devices have been named the ‘€œDouble-Double Machine’€ and play a highlight video set to Lupe Fiasco’€™s ‘€œSuperstar.’€

“It would mean a lot,” Jefferson told the media. “Just growing up, before I even knew I was going to be an NBA player, just watching the All-Star games on TV you always wanted to be there as a kid. Me having that chance to make it, it would mean a lot to me. It’s something I could talk about for the rest of my life.”

All-Star reserves will be revealed next Thursday, January 29. Celtics Paul Pierce [4], Ray Allen [5], Rajon Rondo [6], and Kendrick Perkins [7] are also on the Eastern Conference ballot. Kevin Garnett [8] was named as a starting forward for the East.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/23/celtics-11973/

URLs in this post:

[1] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[2] Al” Jefferson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-jefferson.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] > A Big All-Star Push" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/23/celtics-11973/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.