- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics practice notes

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 24, 2009 @ 3:12 pm In General | 2 Comments

There was a media circus on Saturday at Health Point with several outlets taking advantage of what has become a rare Boston Celtics [1] practice.

Tony Allen [2], who has missed the last 10 games with an ankle injury, consistently knocked down long-range jumpshots after practice. However Doc Rivers [3], who does not get involved in the medical side of the game, has not been given the green light yet from Celtics trainer Ed Lacerte.

‘€œI have no idea [how he's feeling],’€ Rivers said. ‘€œHe seems like he’s doing well, smiling and laughing today. I didn’t check updates. He’s not playing so I just talk to him as a guy. I don’t even ask him about the injury. So he’s feeling good.’€

Rajon Rondo [4] was also working on his jumpshot, a hot topic as of late. Rondo attests that Rivers has not asked him to spend any more time on his J than he usually does.

‘€œIn practice when I have the opportunity, I shoot it,’€ he said. ‘€œBut other than that I try to continue to do what I do best.’€

– The Celtics spent an extra day in Florida on Friday after beating the Orlando Magic [5] on Thursday night. Temperatures reached nearly 70 degrees in Orlando yesterday compared to 40 in Boston.

‘€œIt’s great, any time you can stay in warm weather it’s got to be good for the body, good for the soul,’€ Rivers said. ‘€œThe players wanted that and they earned it, so they got to stay.’€

As for Rivers, he used the extra day to spend time with his family. ‘€œI slept at home, I never saw the team,’€ he said before adding with a laugh, ‘€œSo it was perfect for me.’€

– The Celtics will take on the Dallas Mavericks [6] on Sunday at 1pm at the TD BankNorth Garden [7].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/24/celtics-practice-notes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Orlando Magic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[6] Dallas Mavericks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dallas-mavericks.htm

[7] TD BankNorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[8] > Celtics practice notes" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/01/24/celtics-practice-notes/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.