- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Davis jumps into new role

Posted By Jessica Camerato On February 3, 2009 @ 11:28 pm In General | 5 Comments

While Ray Allen [1] was the hero of the Boston Celtics [2] dramatic win over the Philadelphia 76ers [3] on Tuesday night, the Cs would not have been in striking distance if it weren’t for one player stepping up in Kevin Garnett’s absence. For the second straight game, Glen Davis [4] has thrived in his role as the Celtics starting power forward.

Davis posted 12 points (6-11 FG) and 11 rebounds against the 76ers (RECAP HERE [5]). Of his six field goals, only one came in the paint. On Sunday, he added 12 points (5-12 FG) and six rebounds against the Minnesota Timberwolves [6]. Davis isn’t just attacking the hoop like a traditional big man. Big Baby is getting the job done with his jumper.

‘€œI think it’s going to help my game tremendously,’€ Davis said recently. ‘€œIf I can spread the floor for my team …  I can move up to the four, pick and roll to help out with Paul (Pierce [7]), and hit the jumper. I kind of just train myself to be ready to hit that big shot.’€

His preparation paid off when he hit knocked down a 17-footer with 1:30 left in the fourth quarter. The basket brought the Celtics back within three and sparked an 8-to-4 run to close out the game.

This season Davis has developed a knack for mid-range jumpers. Even though the majority of his baskets have come at the rim ‘€“ his biggest responsibility is attacking the glass ‘€“ he has been in the zone away from the paint. He entered Tuesday’s game shooting nearly 50% from just inside the arc and almost 40% from the top of the key. Davis has made it a point to fit his jumpshots into his training regimen.

‘€œIt doesn’t take that long [in practice],’€ he said. ‘€œI might go 30 minutes hard, just jumper, jumper, jumper, jumper, and get mine in for the day. I just try to do it every day.’€

Davis’ shot has been a work in progress over the years, according to his childhood friend, Dallas Mavericks [8] forward Brandon Bass [9]. The two also played college basketball [10] together at LSU. Bass has seen Davis transform from a banger to a finesse player. It’s a move that was necessary for the 6-foot-9 forward to adapt as an undersized big man in the NBA.

‘€œHe never had a bad jumpshot,’€ Bass said. ‘€œHe always could shoot it, but he wasn’t necessarily a jumpshooter. He was more of a guy you could throw it to on the block and he could get you a bucket, or he’d eat the glass up and get an offensive rebound. When I left [LSU in 2005] he developed a jumpshot a little more.’€

Garnett (flu) is expected to return for Thursday’s game against the Los Angeles Lakers [11]. While Davis won’t get as many looks off the bench, this extra playing time has helped his confidence with his shot. The skills are there; now it’s just a matter of showcasing them when given the opportunity.

‘€œI feel like I always had the talent to do a lot of things,’€ Davis said. ‘€œIt’s just all about working on them and doing them. But I always in college had flashes of myself taking the ball up the court, playing at a smaller position than the power forward and the center. So I know I can do it. It’s just about going out there and doing it and having confidence and working on it consistently.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/03/celtics-davis-jumps-into-new-role/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Philadelphia 76ers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/philadelphia-76ers.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] RECAP HERE: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009020320&home=20&vis=2

[6] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[7] Paul (Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Dallas Mavericks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dallas-mavericks.htm

[9] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[10] college basketball: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa-basketball.htm

[11] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[12] > Davis jumps into new role" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/03/celtics-davis-jumps-into-new-role/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.