- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Who needs Marbury?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On February 7, 2009 @ 12:06 am In General | 2 Comments

NEW YORK — There is a fur-lined coat and baseball cap hanging in Stephon Marbury’s locker. They don’t belong to Marbury, though. Al Harrington [1] is using the empty space for storage. Many of the Knicks [2] don’t need Marbury or his belongings in their locker room. In fact, they aren’t sure who needs him either.

‘€œIt’s hard to say,’€ said Jared Jeffries [3]. ‘€œThere’s a lot of ‘what ifs.”€

There is no question Marbury is a talented point guard, his teammates don’t deny that. He is a two-time All-Star with a career average of nearly 20 points and eight assists per game over the course of 11 years. These are numbers that rival premiere point guards like Dwyane Wade [4], Allen Iverson [5], and Chris Paul [6].

‘€œObviously Steph is an experienced guard,’€ said David Lee [7]. ‘€œHe’s been in the league a long time. He’s been through the battles in the West and the battles in the East. He’s a guy that’s obviously a very skilled player.’€

Jeffries concurred.

‘€œHe’s definitely a talented player,’€ he said. ‘€œHe’s a big guard, he’s a really good scorer, he’s scored a lot in this league. He’s a good point guard, he really is talent-wise. He’s a really good point guard so any time you have a talent like that you could use that.’€

Yet the Knicks don’t want to use that talent. The experience and stats are there, but is the potential to help a team win it all? While rookie Anthony Roberson praised his mentorship off the court, his teammates are indecisive about what he has to offer anymore.

‘€œI don’t know,’€ Lee said of Marbury’s abilities to help a team in the running for the title. ‘€œI’m not sure if he’s ever been to the Finals. I could be wrong. It’ll be interesting to see and it’ll be interesting to see what happens with Steph and New York and if he does get released or if he decides to go to another team. I heard them talking about that during the TNT game against L.A. the other night. That should be interesting.’€

What’s more interesting is the fact that Lee has been Marbury’s teammate since 2005 and he can’t form a decisive opinion. But teams like the world champion Boston Celtics [8] have still expressed interest in Marbury, dramatics and all. So why, if a team of that caliber is willing to take a closer look at him, can’t his teammates who know his game best speak to his value?

Don’t ask Nate Robinson [9]. Even though he entered the NBA as Marbury’s back up, he no longer feels comfortable commenting on the issue. The one thing the Knicks are certain on is their choice of point guard this season. Chris Duhon leads the floor without the drama, an asset they’d take any day.

‘€œHe’s a guy that really knows how to play the game,’€ Lee said of Duhon. ‘€œBut we are very happy with what Chris has done this year. I’m not sure you could ask for any more than Chris has done. Steph’s a great guard, but we’re very happy with Duhon.’€

The fur-lined coat and baseball cap still hung in Stephon Marbury’s locker after the Celtics banned together to beat the Knicks on Friday night. They won with a fourth quarter push fueled by communication and chemistry. It’s the type of victory may not have been possible if Marbury’s belongings were hanging in a Celtics locker.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/07/celtics12975/

URLs in this post:

[1] Al Harrington: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-harrington.htm

[2] Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee-gators.htm

[3] Jared Jeffries: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jared-jeffries.htm

[4] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[5] Allen Iverson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/allen-iverson.htm

[6] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[7] David Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee.htm

[8] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[9] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[10] > Who needs Marbury?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/07/celtics12975/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.