- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Who is Mikki Moore?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On February 24, 2009 @ 7:31 pm In General | 6 Comments

On Tuesday the Boston Celtics [1] signed free agent big man Mikki Moore [2]. In just a matter of days since being waived by the Sacramento Kings [3], he had become one of the hottest players on the market. But it wasn’t that long ago that Moore was known for being a journeyman rather than a contributor on a championship-defending team. So who is Mikki Moore?

Full name: Clinton Renard Moore

Born: November 4, 1975

Hometown: Orangeburg, South Carolina

High School: Blacksburg HS, Blacksburg, SC
(Fast Fact: Celtics guard Ray Allen [4] attended Hillcrest HS in Dalzell, SC. Moore and Allen are two of six players currently in the NBA to attend high school in that state.)

College: University of Nebraska (1997)

What’s in a name? The nickname Mikki (pronounced ‘€œMikey’€) was given to Moore as a kid because he liked to eat Life cereal. He also goes by “Snake” for his love of reptiles.
(Fast fact: Former Celtic James Posey [5] goes by the nickname ‘€œMike’€ to his friends and family)

He looks familiar: Moore signed a 10-day contract with the Celtics in 2003. He picked up six fouls in three games, but never scored a basket.

League leader: In 2007, Moore led the league in field goal percentage (.609). The following season he led the league in personal fouls (310).
(Fast fact: Former Celtics center Robert Parish [6] was called for 310 fouls in the 1981 season. He only ranked 10th in the NBA.)

Lucky # 7: Moore will be the first player to wear number seven since Al Jefferson [7]. Tom Gugliotta wore it prior to Big Al in 2005.

Lending a helping hand: Moore’s goal is to touch every community he plays in. He founded the Moore Love Foundation in his home state of South Carolina and bussed 600 children to a Charlotte Bobcats [8] game. As a member of the Detroit Pistons [9], Moore helped knock down and rebuild homes in drug-infested neighborhoods. He also distributed Thanksgiving turkeys with the Utah Jazz [10], among other initiatives.

Moore’s Road (Back) to Boston

  • June, 1997: Undrafted in NBA Draft
  • September 30, 1997: Signed as a free agent by the Minnesota Timberwolves [11]
  • October 28, 1997: Waived by the Minnesota Timberwolves
  • 1998-99: Played nine games for Papagou of the Greek League
  • 1998-99: Played remainder of the season for the Fort Wayne Fury of the Continental Basketball Association
  • January 21, 1999: Signed as a free agent by the Minnesota Timberwolves
  • January 27, 1999: Waived by the Minnesota Timberwolves
  • January 29, 1999: Signed as a free agent by the Detroit Pistons
  • February 18, 1999: Waived by the Detroit Pistons
  • October 5, 1999: Signed as a free agent by the Detroit Pistons
  • August 5, 2002: Waived by the Detroit Pistons
  • October 3, 2002: Signed as a free agent by the San Antonio Spurs [12]
  • October 24, 2002: Waived by the San Antonio Spurs
  • 2002-03, 2003-04: Played for the Roanoke Dazzle of the NBA Development League
  • January 6, 2003: Signed by the Boston Celtics to a 10-day contract
  • April 14, 2003: Signed by the Atlanta Hawks [13] for the remainder of the season
  • September 27, 2003: Signed as a free agent by the Seattle SuperSonics [14]
  • October 21, 2003: Waived by the Seattle SuperSonics
  • December 22, 2003: Signed as a free agent by the New Jersey Nets [15]
  • January 7, 2004: Waived by the New Jersey Nets
  • January 28, 2004: Signed by the Utah Jazz to the first of two consecutive 10-day contracts
  • March 4, 2004: Signed by the Utah Jazz for the remainder of the season
  • August 20, 2004: Signed as a free agent by the Los Angeles Clippers [16]
  • August 31, 2005: Signed as a free agent by the Seattle SuperSonics
  • July 7, 2006: Traded by the Seattle SuperSonics to the New Jersey Nets in exchange for a second-round pick in the 2009 NBA Draft
  • July 13, 2007: Signed as a free agent by the Sacramento Kings
  • February 19, 2009: Waived by Sacramento Kings
  • February 24, 2009: Signed as a free agent by the Boston Celtics

Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/24/celtics-who-is-mikki-moore/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Mikki Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mikki-moore.htm

[3] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[6] Robert Parish: http://media.weei.com/basketball/robert-parish.htm

[7] Al Jefferson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-jefferson.htm

[8] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[9] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[10] Utah Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[11] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[12] San Antonio Spurs: http://media.weei.com/basketball/san-antonio-spurs.htm

[13] Atlanta Hawks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/atlanta-hawks.htm

[14] Seattle SuperSonics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[15] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[16] Los Angeles Clippers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-clippers.htm

[17] > Who is Mikki Moore?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/02/24/celtics-who-is-mikki-moore/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.