- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics net win against former team

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 4, 2009 @ 11:24 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Boston Celtics [1] face the New Jersey Nets [2] four times every regular season. Some members of the Celtics, however, are more familiar with this opponent than others. On Wednesday night, Eddie House [3], Stephon Marbury [4], and Mikki Moore [5] returned to their old stomping grounds. (RECAP HERE [6]) Not only do these players have ties to the Nets, they also had ties to the Celtics while playing in New Jersey.

Stephon Marbury: 1999-2001
Average with Nets: 23.0 points, 8.1 assists, 3.1 rebounds, 43.7 percent from the field

  • 1998-99: Traded from the Minnesota Timberwolves [7], where he played with Kevin Garnett [8], to the Nets in part of a three-team deal that included former Celtic Sam Cassell. It only takes Marbury 31 games to establish himself as the Nets second-highest scorer that season.
  • 1999-2000: Leads the Nets in scoring (22.2 ppg) and assists (8.4 apg). Ranks 10th in the NBA in assists. Teammates with former Celtic Sherman Douglas.
  • 2000-2001: Marbury earns first All-Star appearance and represents the Eastern Conference with Ray Allen [9]. Leads Nets in scoring (23.9 ppg) and assists (7.6 apg) once again.

March 4, 2009: Marbury is greeted at the IZOD Center with boos heard all the way back in Boston. He gives the Celtics a reliable ball handler off the bench, allowing the starters to take a breather, and finishes with four assists and two rebounds. Marbury commits only one turnover.

Mikki Moore: 2003-2004, 2006-2007
Average with Nets: 9.8 points, 5.1 rebounds, 60.9 percent from the field (2007 season only)

  • 2003-04: Moore signs with the Nets as a free agent in December of 2003. After appearing in just four games, he is waived the following month. Moore scores two points during this stint. During this time he is teammates with Celtics forward ‘€” and current next door neighbor in the locker room ‘€” Brian Scalabrine [10]. That season the Nets went on to defeat Marbury and the New York Knicks [11] in the first round of the playoffs.
  • 2006-07: Moore is traded back to the Nets by the Seattle SuperSonics [12] (where he played with Ray Allen) in exchange for future draft pick. After bouncing around the league for almost ten years, Moore has a breakout season (9.8 ppgs, 5.1 rpg). He also leads the league in field goal percentage (60.9 percent from the field). Moore is teammates with Eddie House.

March 4, 2009: Despite leaving the Nets for a big money contract with the Sacramento Kings [13], Moore is still welcome in New Jersey. He looks comfortable on the court at the IZOD Center, scoring six points in 12 minutes. The seven-foot Moore also spreads the Nets defense with his mid-range jumper.

Eddie House: 2006-2007
Average with Nets: 8.4 points, 42.8 from the field

  • 2006-07: Signs as a free agent with the Nets in August of 2006. House is teammates with recently acquired Celtic Mikki Moore. He leads the Nets in three-point shooting (42.9 percent), ahead of Jason Kidd [14] and Vince Carter [15], and ranks 10th in the league that season. The Nets lose in the second round of the playoffs to former Celtic Scot Pollard and the Cleveland Cavaliers [16].

March 4, 2009: House had been playing well against the Nets so far this season, averaging 11.5 points and shooting 60 percent from the field heading into Wednesday’s game. With Rajon Rondo [17] in early foul trouble, he is the first one off the bench for the Celtics. House scores 10 points in 16 minutes, including 3-for-6 shooting from long-range. He also adds two rebounds and two steals.

(Brian Scalabrine played with the New Jersey Nets from 2001-2005. However he did not play on March 4 and is out for at least a month after suffering his third concussion.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/04/celtics-14116/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[3] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[4] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[5] Mikki Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mikki-moore.htm

[6] RECAP HERE: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009030417&home=17&vis=2

[7] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[10] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[11] New York Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[12] Seattle SuperSonics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[13] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[14] Jason Kidd: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-kidd.htm

[15] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[16] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[17] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[18] > Celtics net win against former team" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/04/celtics-14116/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.