- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics ranked best pro sports team

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 6, 2009 @ 9:50 am In General | 1 Comment

The Boston Celtics were ranked most successful professional sports team in 2008 [1] by a new bizjournals study. The Detroit Lions [2] were named the least successful.

A total of 122 organizations in the NBA, NFL, MLB, and NHL [3] were compared on two criteria: games won and money made. Bizjournals reports that in addition to winning the NBA championship and earning a league-high winning percentage during the regular season (.791), the Celtics sold out every home game and saw a 14% increase in franchise value in 2008.

5 Best Sports Organizations in 2008:
1. Boston Celtics [4] (NBA)
2. New York Giants [5] (NFL)
3. Los Angeles Lakers [6] (NBA)
4. Montreal Canadiens [7] (NHL [8])
5. Boston Red Sox [9] (MLB)

5 Worst Sports Organizations in 2008:
122. Detroit Lions (NFL)
121. New York Islanders [10] (NHL)
120. Memphis Grizzlies [11] (NBA)
119. Atlanta Thrashers [12] (NHL)
118. Pittsburgh Pirates [13] (MLB)

5 Best NBA Organizations in 2008: overall ranking in parentheses
1. Boston Celtics (1)
2. Los Angeles Lakers (3)
3. Detroit Pistons [14] (6)
4. Utah Jazz [15] (11)
5. Cleveland Cavaliers [16] (15)

5 Worst NBA Organizations in 2008: overall ranking in parentheses
30. Oklahoma City Thunder [17]/Seattle SuperSonics (108)
29. Sacramento Kings [18] (109)
28. Indiana Pacers [19] (112)
27. Minnesota Timberwolves [20] (117)
26. Memphis Grizzlies (120)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/06/celtics-ranked-best-pro-sports-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] The Boston Celtics were ranked most successful professional sports team in 2008: http://www.bizjournals.com/specials/pages/231.html

[2] Detroit Lions: http://media.weei.com/football/detroit-lions.htm

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[4] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] New York Giants: http://media.weei.com/football/new-york-giants.htm

[6] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[7] Montreal Canadiens: http://media.weei.com/hockey/montreal-canadiens.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[9] Boston Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[10] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[11] Memphis Grizzlies: http://media.weei.com/basketball/memphis-grizzlies.htm

[12] Atlanta Thrashers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/atlanta-thrashers.htm

[13] Pittsburgh Pirates: http://media.weei.com/baseball/pittsburgh-pirates.htm

[14] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[15] Utah Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[16] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[17] Oklahoma City Thunder: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[18] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[19] Indiana Pacers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/indiana-pacers.htm

[20] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[21] > Celtics ranked best pro sports team" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/06/celtics-ranked-best-pro-sports-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[22]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.