- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Sounds of the game… Celtics 105, Cavaliers 94

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 7, 2009 @ 12:30 am In General | 1 Comment

Before Friday’s game, Celtics [1] assistant coach Armond Hill showed an inspirational video to the team, aimed specifically at young big men Leon Powe [2] and Glen Davis [3].

No, it wasn’t Rocky or even Hoosiers. It was a film of the Celtics scoring basket after basket with their big men executing great interior passes. The result – the undermanned Celtics outscored the Cleveland Cavaliers [4] 58-22 in the paint and rolled to a stunning 11-point win, 105-94, over the Eastern Conference leaders.

The Celtics didn’t have Kevin Garnett [5] but they did have Leon Powe. The Celtics didn’t have Brian Scalabrine [6] but they did have Glen Davis, at least for 17 minutes before he was ejected for a flagrant Type 2 foul with 9:09 remaining in the third quarter.

But Doc Rivers [7], who said at the shootaround in the morning that this would be a phenomenal win, had one of his best games of the season as head coach of the defending NBA champions. Just ask Mike Brown [8], his counterpart on the Cleveland bench.

Brown said the Celtics deserved all the credit for pulling together and pulling off the upset, even if it was on their home parquet [9].

For his part, Doc Rivers gave credit to Armond Hill for showing the video and his players for taking the lead [10].

Paul Pierce said Powe (20 points, 11 rebounds) and Davis (10 points) showed the depth the Celtics have [11].

Pierce said Davis’ ejection in the third quarter fired up the Green [12].

Leon Powe said he knew he was going to have to pick it up when Big Baby was thrown out [13].

Glen Davis said his foul of Anderson Varejao was a case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time [14].

LeBron James said, with or without Garnett, the Celtics are a great team [15].

King James said it’s hard to believe home team has won 15 straight in the series [16].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/07/celtics-cavaliers-lebron-james-paul-pierce-leon-powe-glen-baby-davis-sounds-of-the-game-celtics-105-cavaliers-94/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[3] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[4] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] Mike Brown: http://media.weei.com/football/mike-brown.htm

[9] Brown said the Celtics deserved all the credit for pulling together and pulling off the upset, even if it was on their home parquet: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13900

[10] For his part, Doc Rivers gave credit to Armond Hill for showing the video and his players for taking the lead: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13904

[11] Paul Pierce said Powe (20 points, 11 rebounds) and Davis (10 points) showed the depth the Celtics have: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13903

[12] Pierce said Davis’ ejection in the third quarter fired up the Green: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13902

[13] Leon Powe said he knew he was going to have to pick it up when Big Baby was thrown out: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13901

[14] Glen Davis said his foul of Anderson Varejao was a case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13905

[15] LeBron James said, with or without Garnett, the Celtics are a great team: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13899

[16] King James said it’s hard to believe home team has won 15 straight in the series: http://fullcount.weei.com/?attachment_id=13898

[17] > Sounds of the game… Celtics 105, Cavaliers 94" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/07/celtics-cavaliers-lebron-james-paul-pierce-leon-powe-glen-baby-davis-sounds-of-the-game-celtics-105-cavaliers-94/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.