- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

A players’ coach…

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 9, 2009 @ 5:47 pm In General | 2 Comments

Doc Rivers [1] quipped after practice on Monday that he just worked up his best sweat since his playing days.

The former NBA point guard wasn’t joking. He just finished running Stephon Marbury [2] through a five-man ghost drill in which Rivers called out various plays, leaving Marbury to run an offense that included the likes of Mikki Moore [3], Leon Powe [4], J.R. Giddens, Bill Walker [5] and Gabe Pruitt [6].

With five players unavailable due to injury and with Paul Pierce [7] and Ray Allen [8] playing 45 minutes apiece the day before, the Celtics [9] were running on a skelton practice with barely enough bodies to make it worthwhile.

Now, while he’ll have the benefit of Pierce and Allen on Wednesday when the team plays next in Miami, Marbury will have to pick up his mastery of the offense if the Celtics are to find their way on offense and not fall behind by 20 like they did on Sunday in the first half against Orlando.

“Steph ran the set, but he didn’t know what to look for or who to look for and then he’s playing at half-speed, because you could feel him thinking out there on the floor,” Rivers said. “That killed him and it killed the team as well. So, it’s just going to take time. What I’m trying to get him to do is not to press or worry about it. The first thing I told him (Sunday) night was don’t worry about, it’s going to come together.”

Even though he was clearly not playing up to the potential that Danny Ainge saw when he signed him two weeks ago, Marbury was hardly crestfallen about his chances to improve. Instead, he exhibited the kind of confidence required from a point guard of a NBA title contender.

“Yeah, I’m definitely, getting it,” Marbury said. “Today was definitely helpful. As coach said today, learning what we want out of the offense as opposed to just running the sets. As a point guard, you normally know all of the plays, you know where to go and you know what everyone is going to do.”

With Rivers saying on Monday that he foresees Rajon Rondo [10] out for at least the next couple of games with his sprained right ankle, this will be Marbury’s team. Marbury will have a golden opportunity to show that he can pick up the offense in time to be a force for the playoffs.

“For me, asserting myself in the lineups, I need to make sure the guys get the shots who are supposed to get the shots,” Marbury said.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/09/nba-celtics-injuries-stephon-marbury-doc-the-players-coach/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[3] Mikki Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mikki-moore.htm

[4] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[5] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[6] Gabe Pruitt: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gabe-pruitt.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[10] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[11] > A players’ coach…" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/09/nba-celtics-injuries-stephon-marbury-doc-the-players-coach/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.