- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Power to the Powe

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 13, 2009 @ 10:37 pm In General | 1 Comment

The name Gasol is like a four-letter word, plus exclamation, among Celtics [1] fans.

On Friday night, the legend grew. As Leon Powe [2] was destroying the Memphis Grizzlies [3] with a monstrous 30-point, 11-rebound performance, [4] Pau’s brother Marc was trash-talking with teammate Rudy Gay [5] at the free throw line.

Ray Allen [6] was a witness to it and heard every word loud and clear.

“Gasol and Rudy Gay were talking on the free throw line,” Allen said. “So (Gay) says, ‘You’ve got to guard Leon.’  (Gasol) says, ‘I don’t care about Leon, let him get 40.’ I looked at him and said, ‘You want him to get 40, he’ll get 40 on you, don’t sleep on him.’ And he goes, ‘As long as it’s not Pierce.’ I said, ‘If it’s 40, we’re still going to win.’ ”

And win the Celtics did, 102-92, over the Grizzlies at TD Banknorth Garden [7] on Friday night. Powe was the biggest reason, with his career-high 30, 11 board, five blocks and three assists.

“So, the free throw line banter was pretty funny tonight,” Allen continued.

And no one was laughing harder than Powe, who reminded everyone at his locker afterward that he scored 41 in college with California.

He also was giving grief to the man who he’s replacing in the lineup, Kevin Garnett [8], who is still out another week with a strained right knee.

“Me and KG had a little friendly talk,” said Powe, who played a team-high 41 minutes. “I want KG to come back. My body is getting used to these 40 minutes (a game). But that’s our leader, man, and we miss him so we want to be at full strength. And once we’re at full strength, we’re going to be hard to stop.”

On Friday night, it was Powe who was unstoppable.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/13/power-to-the-powe/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[3] Memphis Grizzlies: http://media.weei.com/basketball/memphis-grizzlies.htm

[4] monstrous 30-point, 11-rebound performance,: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009031302

[5] Rudy Gay: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rudy-gay.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] > Power to the Powe" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/13/power-to-the-powe/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.