- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Garnett makes most of minutes

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 20, 2009 @ 11:43 pm In General | 1 Comment

Perhaps more frustrating than an injured Kevin Garnett [1] in street clothes is a restricted Garnett in uniform.

After missing the last 13 games with a strained knee, Garnett returned to the Boston Celtics [2] starting lineup in Friday night’s win against the San Antonio Spurs [3]. (RECAP HERE [4]) As a precautionary measure, head coach Doc Rivers [5] capped his minutes at just 15, leaving the Celtics without their big man down the stretch.

However this game had a different result than the last time Garnett returned from a lengthy absence:

February 19, 2008 vs. Denver Nuggets [6]

Last season Garnett was sidelined for nine games in January/February with an abdominal strain . After going 7-2 without Garnett, the Celtics dropped the first three games with KG back in the lineup. His return was spoiled by a 124-118 loss to the Denver Nuggets following the All-Star break. Garnett scored just 4 points (2-7 FG) in 27 minutes and committed four turnovers. After the game Rivers deemed Garnett’s performance ‘€œnot very good’€ and thought he looked ‘€œrusty.’€ Garnett bounced back the following night, posting 17 points and 15 rebounds in the Celtics two-point loss to the Golden State Warriors [7].

March 20, 2009 vs. San Antonio Spurs

Garnett had been averaging more than 32 minutes per game before suffering his knee injury in February. Knowing his playing time would be limited, Garnett came out aggressive in his return. He attempted his first shot 15 seconds into the game and finished the night with 10 points (5-9 FG) in just 15 minutes. He also grabbed four rebounds. Unlike his return last season, Rivers was full of compliments for Garnett this time around. ‘€œHe was playing terrific right before we took him out,’€ he said after the game.

The Celtics intend to limit Garnett’s minutes on Saturday night against the Memphis Grizzlies [8].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/20/garnett-makes-most-of-minutes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] San Antonio Spurs: http://media.weei.com/basketball/san-antonio-spurs.htm

[4] RECAP HERE: http://weei.stats.com/nba/boxscore.asp?gamecode=2009032024

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Denver Nuggets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/denver-nuggets.htm

[7] Golden State Warriors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/golden-state-warriors.htm

[8] Memphis Grizzlies: http://media.weei.com/basketball/memphis-grizzlies.htm

[9] > Garnett makes most of minutes" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/20/garnett-makes-most-of-minutes/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.