- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Injury Update: Leon Powe

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 29, 2009 @ 6:33 pm In General | 1 Comment

On Sunday Leon Powe [1] made his first appearance at a Boston Celtics [2] game since spraining his knee against the Chicago Bulls [3] on March 17. Powe was scheduled to undergo further testing by team doctors, but spoke to the media beforehand.

‘€œIt’s sore every once and a while but it feels good,’€ he said. ‘€œIt’s feeling better than it did when I hurt it. I was able to run straight it that game but then when it got stiffened up, it stiffened up on me in the back and I couldn’t even move it.’€

Powe suffered the injury when he banged knees with Ben Gordon [4]. A sprain is nothing compared to the extensive knee injuries he has endured in the past. He hopes to return a few games before or during the playoffs.

‘€œI’ve been through a lot of knee problems a whole lot worse,’€ he said. ‘€œJust a few weeks, three-and-a-half weeks, that isn’t anything to me. But I would like to get back into action a little bit before the playoffs. But however I feel, that’s where I’m going to go from there.’€

As for Sunday’s game, Powe will watch the Celtics take on the Oklahoma City Thunder [5] from the locker room.

‘€œI’m not going to be on the bench,’€ he said. ‘€œI didn’t wear a sports coat today. I don’t want to get fined, especially when I’m sitting out.’€

Update: Following the game, Powe gave a thumbs up when asked about his meeting with team doctors.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/29/injury-update-leon-powe/

URLs in this post:

[1] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[4] Ben Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[5] Oklahoma City Thunder: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[6] > Injury Update: Leon Powe" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/29/injury-update-leon-powe/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[7]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.