- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

No NCAA Tourney Regrets for Perkins

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 31, 2009 @ 8:00 am In General | 1 Comment

Kendrick Perkins [1] and Kevin Garnett [2] are the only members of the Boston Celtics [3] to go straight from high school to the NBA. Of their teammates who chose the NCAA [4], nearly all of them experienced March Madness [5].

Even though Perkins made an early jump to the pros, the 2003 Clifton J. Ozen High School graduate still gets caught up in the excitement of the NCAA [6] Tournament.

‘€œIt’s fun because I’ve been watching a lot of games,’€ he said. ‘€œIt’s been very interesting just watching all the buzzer beaters, teams getting upset.’€

So while Paul Pierce [7] watched Kansas try to defend its NCAA title and Ray Allen [8] basked in the glory of UConn’s Final Fourth berth, does Perkins ever wish he was part of that?

‘€œNo,’€ he said without hesitation. ‘€œI don’t think anything substitutes for being in the NBA. It’s like, I’ve never known what it’s like to be in college so I never have any regrets or anything like that.’€

It’s easier for Perkins to have no regrets when he can place his world championship ring next to his high school diploma.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/31/no-ncaa-tourney-regrets-for-perkins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] NCAA: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa.htm

[5] March Madness: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/march-madness.htm

[6] NCAA: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/colonial-athletic-association.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] > No NCAA Tourney Regrets for Perkins" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/03/31/no-ncaa-tourney-regrets-for-perkins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.