- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Allen continues to burn Bobcats

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 2, 2009 @ 9:44 am In General | 1 Comment

Stopping Dell Curry was never easy for Ray Allen [1]. Dale Ellis and Ricky Pierce were tough match ups too. They were dangerous players, the type who, if let open, always knew how to sting Allen and his teammates.

After Wednesday night’s double-overtime thriller, consider Allen the Charlotte Bobcats [2]‘ version of Dell Curry.

His three-pointer with seconds left iced another dramatic victory for the Celtics [3] over the Bobcats.  (Click here for a recap of the Celtics 2OT 111-109 win [4].)

‘€œHe’s a pure shooter,’€ said Bobcats guard Raymond Felton [5]. ‘€œHe got a good look, he knocked down the shot. It’s not like those were easy shots. Those were contested shots.’€

This wasn’€™t the first time Allen has burned the Bobcats. In November of 2007, he drained a game-winning three after Eddie House [6] picked off Jason Richardson [7]‘€™s inbound attempt with less than five seconds to go. The Celtics won 96-95. The image of Allen being carried away by his teammates in celebration is still a Garden favorite.

But Allen says credit goes to the Bobcats, too. He wouldn’€™t be in the situation to hit last-second shots if they didn’€™t test the Celtics. Last season the Bobcats stunned them at home and snapped their attempt to become the fastest team to reach 30 wins. This season they beat the Celtics in overtime.

‘€œIt’s not anything that I’m doing. Really it’s the team plays us so tough,’€ Allen said. ‘€œThey always have a great match up against us, and in the fourth quarter it’s just an opportunity for us to win games. Every day we drill fourth situations, so whether I get the shot, Paul (Pierce [8]) gets the shot, Eddie (House) has a shot, we all kind of know.’€

While it is easy for Allen to get overshadowed by Pierce and Kevin Garnett [9], the Bobcats have learned the hard way cannot be forgotten. He was left wide open to hit the game-winner when they tried to triple-team Pierce.

‘€œYou can’t exclude him out because he’s a guy who could come in and give you 40, 30 points any time,” said Felton, adding, ‘€œHe’s a big time player, big time scorer, he hits some big shots.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/02/allen-continues-to-burn-bobcats/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[2] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Click here for a recap of the Celtics 2OT 111-109 win: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009040102&home=2&vis=30

[5] Raymond Felton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

[6] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[7] Jason Richardson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-richardson.htm

[8] Paul (Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] > Allen continues to burn Bobcats" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/02/allen-continues-to-burn-bobcats/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.