- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rondo turns ankle, Garnett out this week

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 6, 2009 @ 3:06 pm In General | 1 Comment

Rajon Rondo [1] continues to battle ankle injuries. On Monday, in the team’s first practice since beating Atlanta on Friday night, Rondo was seen limping off the court after turning his ankle.

Doc Rivers [2] said he wasn’t sure of the severity or which ankle was turned but said he didn’t initially think it was a serious injury.

“He just twisted his ankle, nothing bad but instead of keeping him out on the floor, easier to take him off,” Rivers said.

Meanwhile, Rivers said Kevin Garnett [3] is making progress in rehabbing his strained right knee but not enough for him to return this week.

“I’m just really happy with what we see,” Rivers said. “A week ago there was more concern. This week, less concern. He looks great, he’s moving great. You can just tell the difference.”

Rivers ruled Garnett out from games through next Sunday, meaning the star forward won’t be able to play in the team’s final three games as Rivers had hoped.

“He won’t play this week, Wednesday, Friday or Sunday,” Rivers said. “But he’s going to go on the road with us and start practicing. Actually, our hope is start practicing our entire team on this little road trip, which would be really nice since I haven’t seen them in a while, and I think it’s possible.”

Rivers also said Garnett will travel with the team on its road trip to Cleveland and Philadelphia, with the hope of having the entire team together practicing together. Leon Powe [4] and Brian Scalabrine [5] could also return to action in practice.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/06/rondo-turns-ankle-garnett-out-this-week/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[5] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[6] > Rondo turns ankle, Garnett out this week" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/06/rondo-turns-ankle-garnett-out-this-week/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[7]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.