- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Injury updates

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 8, 2009 @ 7:47 pm In General | 1 Comment

Pay not attention to the presence of Brian Scalabrine [1] in uniform and on the Celtics [2] bench tonight. There is no way he will play tonight. “He can not play,” Doc Rivers [3] said. “If everybody fouled out he still wouldn’t play. We’d just take the techs.”

But the news is slightly more optimistic on the other injured Celtics. Kevin Garnett [4] and Leon Powe [5] will travel with the team to Cleveland, although neither will play against the Cavs, and Rivers hopes both can practice on Monday and then possibly play Tuesday at Philly. The key word there is possibly.

Powe reported that he was able to run at full speed and cut and do agility drills, which had him in high spirits in the Celtics locker room Wednesday night. “So far it’s been good,” Powe said. “We just want to make sure it’s right for the playoffs.”

Garnett was also in the locker room although he didn’t talk to the press (as per usual). Rivers was asked if he would be comfortable playing Garnett without practice time if it comes to that. “That would bother me,” Rivers said. “It wouldn’t bother me enough to sit him.”

Rivers was also asked if he would rest Paul Pierce [6] and Ray Allen [7] next week if the seeding with Orlando was still an issue. The Celtics entered play Wednesday night with one-game lead on the Magic and control of the tiebreaker if they finish tied. “Absolutely not,” Rivers said. “If you can get homecourt, you’ve got to go get it.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/08/injury-updates/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] > Injury updates" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/08/injury-updates/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.