- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Final Update

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 10, 2009 @ 9:59 pm In General | 2 Comments

It’s over at the Garden where the Celtics [1] held off the Heat in a wildly entertaining game, 105-98. Paul Pierce [2] led the way with 28 points, while Big Baby Davis added 22 and eight rebounds and Rajon Rondo [3] came up just shy of a triple-double with seven points, 10 rebounds and 12 assists.

In the last two minutes with the score tied 95-95, the Heat switched Dwyane Wade [4] on to Pierce, an interesting tactical decision by rookie coach Erik Spolestra. Pierce had been working over James Jones [5] when Spolestra made the switch, and while Wade has the edge on Jones in the strength department, he also gave up a few inches in size and he picked up two quick fouls including one on a Pierce jumper.

Pierce went to the line and made a pair of free throws and after Wade missed a 3-pointer, the Celtics cashed in on some solid ball movement that resulted in Davis dropping in a lay-up as the shot clock hit zero.

For the C’s it was their 60th win of the season, the first time they’ve had back-to-back 60-win seasons since the Larry Bird [6] era. Elsewhere, Cleveland beat Philadelphia and clinched first place in the Eastern Conference, while Orlando is down seven at home against the Knicks entering the fourth quarter.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/10/final-update/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[5] James Jones: http://media.weei.com/football/james-jones.htm

[6] Larry Bird: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-bird.htm

[7] > Final Update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/10/final-update/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.