- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

First round still up for grabs

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 12, 2009 @ 11:00 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Boston Celtics [1] locked up the second seed in the Eastern Conference on Saturday, but their first round opponent is still uncertain. This weekend the Chicago Bulls [2] rose to the occasion, the Detroit Pistons [3] continued to be mediocre, and the Philadelphia 76ers [4] came up short. With only three days left in the regular season, the sixth, seventh, and eighth seeds are still up for grabs.

6. Philadelphia 76ers (40-40)
The Sixers are slipping on a five-game losing streak. This weekend they lost to the Cleveland Cavaliers [5] and Toronto Raptors [6], putting their hold on the sixth spot in jeopardy as they gear up to face the top two teams in the Eastern Conference.

Rest of the season:
Tuesday, April 14 vs. (2) Boston Celtics
Wednesday, April 15 @ (1) Cleveland Cavaliers

7. Chicago Bulls (40-40)
The Bulls enter the final week of the regular season on a four-game winning streak, including Saturday’s victory over the Charlotte Bobcats [7]. They will wrap up the season at home where they are 28-12.

Rest of the season:
Monday, April 13 @ (8) Detroit Pistons
Wednesday, April 15 vs. Toronto Raptors

8. Detroit Pistons (39-41)
Despite beating the New Jersey Nets [8] on Friday, a loss on Saturday to the Indiana Pacers [9] landed the Pistons one game behind the Chicago Bulls in the eighth spot. They are 1-2 this season against both of their upcoming opponents.

Rest of the season:
Monday, April 13 vs. (7) Chicago Bulls
Wednesday, April 15 @ (5) Miami Heat [10]


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/12/first-round-still-up-for-grabs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[3] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[4] Philadelphia 76ers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/philadelphia-76ers.htm

[5] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[6] Toronto Raptors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/toronto-raptors.htm

[7] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[8] New Jersey Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[9] Indiana Pacers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/indiana-pacers.htm

[10] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[11] > First round still up for grabs" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/12/first-round-still-up-for-grabs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.