- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

No KG, no pressure?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 18, 2009 @ 12:06 pm In General | 1 Comment

The skeptics have been there since James Posey [1] signed with the New Orleans Hornets [2]. They were there when the Los Angeles Lakers [3] won on Christmas Day, and even more appeared when Kevin Garnett [4] got injured. They don’t think the Celtics [5] have what it takes to repeat this season. And that’s fine with the Cs.

“The way I look at it is, there is no pressure because the majority of the country out there is doubting me anyway,” Glen Davis [6] said prior to Game 1 of the Celtics-Bulls series. “So if I lose, I don’t get any pressure, like oh they didn’t have Kevin. So why would you have pressure when people don’t think you’re going to do it anyway? People don’t think you can help, or people don’t think you can make it to the championship anyway without Kevin.”

Garnett’s absence has put the spotlight on Davis, who has accepted the role of starter in his place.

“We’re not trying to prove anything but we’re just trying to let the world know that we’re ready to play,” he said. “With or without Kevin, we’re going to play hard. We’re going to play Celtics basketball.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/18/no-kg-no-pressure/

URLs in this post:

[1] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[2] New Orleans Hornets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-orleans-hornets.htm

[3] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[7] > No KG, no pressure?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/18/no-kg-no-pressure/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.