- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

First quarter update

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 20, 2009 @ 7:41 pm In General | 1 Comment

What’s best strategy against a team that presses? You press them back. Similarly, it was clear from the opening seconds that the Celtics [1] wanted to run against a team that runs. Rajon Rondo [2] was sensational in the first quarter with nine points, four rebounds, six assists and a combined five fouls against Derrick Rose [3] and Kirk Hinrich [4]. The Bulls blocked seven shots in the first quarter, but that’s a fine trade-off for taking the ball to the basket aggressively as the Celtics have done time and again.

The biggest beneficiary has been Big Baby Davis who scored 12 points on 6-of-10 shooting, with most of them coming on kickout jumpers off dribble penetration. The C’s also wanted to be tougher defensively and Kendrick Perkins [5] set the tone with a hard foul on John Salmons [6] three minutes into the game.

The only downside for the C’s is that Ray Allen [7] is 0-for-2 and appears tentative early. After one, it’s 35-29 Celtics.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/first-quarter-update-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Derrick Rose: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[4] Kirk Hinrich: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kirk-hinrich.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] John Salmons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-salmons.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] > First quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/first-quarter-update-3/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.