- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

They call him ‘Big Cuddly’

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 20, 2009 @ 12:14 am In General | 1 Comment

Music can be used to get players in ‘€œthe zone.’€ Rasheed Wallace [1] blares hip hop music through the Detroit Pistons [2] locker room. Tony Allen [3] shows off his rap skills before every Celtics [4] game. And then there’s Glen Davis [5].

On any given night, Big Baby can be seen sauntering down the halls of the TD BankNorth Garden [6] singing Jason Mraz or offering his own rendition of Celine Dion in the Celtics locker room. Davis has an explanation for his unexpected song choice.

‘€œI’m an emotional player and when I’m mad or I’m thinking mad, I’m not thinking at all,’€ Davis said. ‘€œBut when I’m smooth and I understand what’s going on, the rhythm of the game, I’m having fun, that’s the way I am.’€

Davis’ postseason playlist keeps him ‘€œsmooth’€ in high pressure situations. He lists ‘€œBubbly [7]‘€ by Colbie Caillat along with ‘€œBeat It’€ and ‘€œBilly Jean’€ by Michael Jackson [8] as his playoff favorites.

So what do his teammates say when he blurts out the latest pop hits?

‘€œNothing, they already know,’€ he said. ‘€œThey call me ‘Big Cuddly’ because I look like a big cuddly bear.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/they-call-him-big-cuddly/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[2] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[3] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] TD BankNorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[7] Bubbly: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PWfB4lurT4

[8] Michael Jackson: http://media.weei.com/celebrities/michael-jackson.htm

[9] > They call him ‘Big Cuddly’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/they-call-him-big-cuddly/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.