- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Third quarter update

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 20, 2009 @ 9:11 pm In General | 1 Comment

What we have here at the Garden is 12 minutes that could potentially decide a season. The Celtics [1] have an 88-87 lead and to demonstrate the urgency of the situation, Doc Rivers [2] did not go to his bench until there ere 40 seconds left in the third quarter.

Rajon Rondo [3] returned to the lineup after spraining his right ankle in the first half and he already has a triple-double with 15 points, 10 rebounds and 11 assists, but the big story has been Ray Allen [4] who erupted for 16 points in the third quarter. Every Celtics starter is in double figures, but the bench has been non-existent.

The other issue was the staredown between Kendrick Perkins [5] and Joakim Noah [6]. There have been a lot of hard fouls in this game and Noah has emerged as Public Enemy No. 1 in the Garden. At one point he wandered toward the Celtics bench and got an earful from Kevin Garnett [7], who has been giving a lot of people an earful. Tyrus Thomas [8] also had a few choice words for the C’s bench.

As we head into the final 12 minutes, the Celtics season is on the line.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/third-quarter-update-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Tyrus Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyrus-thomas.htm

[9] > Third quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/20/third-quarter-update-3/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.