- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Powe out for season

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 21, 2009 @ 12:50 pm In General | 1 Comment

Citing NBA sources, the Boston Globe [1] has reported Celtics [2] forward Leon Powe [3] is expected to undergo surgery on his left knee and will miss the remainder of the postseason. Powe injured his left knee during Game 2 of the Celtics-Bulls series. He left the game in the second quarter and was taken to the hospital for an MRI. Powe had recently rehabbed from a right knee injury, which he suffered in March against the Bulls.

The loss of Powe depletes the Celtics frontcourt. Already playing without Kevin Garnett [4], Powe was the first option off the bench for Glen Davis [5]. He contributed eight points and eight rebounds in 17 minutes against the Bulls in Game 1. Powe also had proven playoff experience after a breakout performance in Game 2 of the 2008 NBA Finals [6] against the Los Angeles Lakers [7]. He is a free agent after this season.

Update: Doc Rivers [8] told reporters Powe has suffered a torn ACL. From Celtics.com [9]:

“He played 3 minutes with a torn ACL on the floor, says so much about Leon Powe the person. Forget the playoffs and all that stuff. That’s just a tough injury for a kid who’s done everything right. That just makes no sense.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/21/report-powe-out-for-season/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Globe: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/extras/celtics_blog/2009/04/powe_out_for_se.html

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[7] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[8] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[9] Celtics.com: http://www.nba.com/celtics/news/blog/postups-notebook-2008-09.html

[10] > Report: Powe out for season" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/21/report-powe-out-for-season/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.