- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Derrick Rose wins rookie honors

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 22, 2009 @ 10:10 am In General | 1 Comment

This shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, but the Chicago Tribune is reporting this morning that Derrick Rose will be named NBA Rookie of the Year [1].

Rose joins Michael Jordan [2] and Elton Brand as the other Bulls who have won the award, and despite the play of Russell Westbrook [3], the already-overrated OJ Mayo and New Jersey center Brook Lopez [4] (see Kevin Pelton’s ballot [5]), Rose was an absolute lock to win the award.

Here’s what else is happening in Chicago:

Vinny Del Negro is coming under fire [6] for running out of timeouts. You may remember that the Bulls had to resort to a Tyrus Thomas [7] heave from about 70-feet after Ray Allen’s 3-pointer, Monday night.

“People are going to second-guess and first-guess,” Del Negro said. “So what? I don’t care. I’m the coach. I will make the decisions. That’s the way it is.”

Joakim Noah [8]: Voice of reason [9].

The always-awesome Kelly Dwyer broke down Game 2. [10] Good stuff here.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/22/derrick-rose-wins-rookie-honors/

URLs in this post:

[1] Derrick Rose will be named NBA Rookie of the Year: http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/basketball/bulls/chi-090423-derrick-rose-chicago-bulls-rookie-year,0,4035550.story

[2] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[3] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[4] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[5] Kevin Pelton’s ballot: http://www.basketballprospectus.com/article.php?articleid=642

[6] Vinny Del Negro is coming under fire: http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/chi-22-bulls-bits-chicago-apr22,0,2907953.story

[7] Tyrus Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyrus-thomas.htm

[8] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[9] Voice of reason: http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/basketball/bulls/chi-20-bulls-bits-chicago-apr20,0,5483490.story

[10] broke down Game 2.: http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/blog/ball_dont_lie/post/Behind-the-Box-Score-where-Boston-bounced-back?urn=nba,157936#remaining-content

[11] > Derrick Rose wins rookie honors" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/22/derrick-rose-wins-rookie-honors/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.